Chaos Attraction

I Like it When Someone Goes For It

2022-11-11, 9:23 p.m.

Day off today! I slept in and stayed in bed till 11:45 a.m. and it was glorious. Now that, my imaginary friends, is what I call a good morning!

I eventually got up and went shopping. My old laptop's plug-in keyboard is starting to go out--specifically the space bar--and I can't take that and Office Depot had wireless ones with wireless mouse for $25, so I hauled off there. It was an excellent haul, because I also got some Sharpies for the theater, a plug-in alarm clock with USB ports that I can plug in at the theater (we're not allowed to have watches on, no cell phones, and the one clock in the dressing room is so far back you can't see it), and some blank greeting cards in case I actually send any Christmas presents. This is the logo I designed yesterday to put onto them, hahahahahah. Then after that I hit CVS, picking up more makeup and random shit for the theater, and some corgi cards.

Saw on FB that Scott went to see Book of Mormon yesterday. Had you-know-what not happened, I would have asked him to go with me. I bet he loved it. But...fuck him. He doesn't want me anyway.

On a good news side, my tap teacher wants to go to the show, I gave her half my comp tickets :) Also, some people want go to the Farmers Market tomorrow to do advertising.

This is testing the new keyboard! Huzzah! New mouse works too!


Opening night of show.

Very small audience in there tonight (maybe 1/4 of the space, if I'm nearsightedly generous about it), but enthusiastic. Given the lack of ticket sales for this one, Soji suggested we go caroling at the Farmers Market and hand out fliers tomorrow. People I knew: Annie, Sierra, um....someone else I can't recall... some people were rumored to show up but did not. Jan complained that they actually got 8 ushers for the show (note: one of them being one of our younger employees at work....distinctive name so I spotted it) and only 2 showed up. That's awkward.

Overall it went well. I did forget to change my entire lower half after Abundance and Charity and didn't notice I'd done the minuet in tap shoes (afterwards Shorthaired Sarah was all "oh, that's what I heard!) until I was walking off the stage again, and I didn't notice until after the show when I went to the bathroom I'd forgotten to take off the beige tights too. Oh well, nobody sees my legs after A&C, so that at least isn't a big deal. Virginia is apparently having a hard enough time trying to quick change after that one to do the minute, so Soji will do it instead. But otherwise, going well.

Quotes I had time to write down:
Noel and Omar, wearing tights: "Nice legs!"
"Thank you, I grew them myself."
"Your mother didn't help you at all?"
"No."

Sarah, taping people's mics on: "Everyone be calm, THERE IS MORE TAPE."

Noel told me that something called "Snoop on the Stoop" existed--"I think he has a blunt"--but it looks like upon Googling, Snoop shut that shit down last year.

"Someone had a bottle of hand sanitizer labeled as 'paper cut finder,' and I said that's appropriate." -Dannette.

Afterwards, there was free cake and ice cream, followed by pizza. Steve and Jan both like my creepy voice/find it creepy, and Jan was sold on casting me on the part once I did it. "I like when someone goes for it." (Remembering this for later.) Otherwise folks were talking about auditioning for Cabaret and other shows in the future, so we'll see how that goes for everybody. Sarah is going to go for Sally Bowles in Cabaret (so is Morgan), also is interested in Young Frankenstein and Newsies, raved about Kyle as a director, etc. I said Kyle is the only person here I can imagine as the emcee, but I have no idea if he actually wants to act in anything, other than when he gets roped in onstage when someone's ill. It was recounted back that he said he'd like to try being an audience member for a change :P

Sadly, the pizza place is closing in January to move buildings across the street, so this is our last show to be eating in there, the guy said. Not an issue for me for the next show though! I found out at dinner that Stacy and Morgan do some kind of interior design competition app online, and Scrooge Scott talked at great length about this essay, which he loved so much he memorized giant chunks of it. I found this delightful, was happy I found the individual essay online, and want to go look for it at the library now.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com