Chaos Attraction

Please Don't Mail Bent Things

2022-11-16, 9:32 p.m.

Today I discovered that a lot of Important Documents had gotten bent while being put into the box. I note that the Dealing With The Box situation (note: a bunch of these were sent here when they were supposed to be on hold, management is having people be emailed to send addresses to get rid of 'em, which is all well and good and has certainly cleared out some of the issue),had been passed off to newer employees instead of me, and presumably a lot of "oops, I didn't notice the corners were bent" happened because it was quite full originally. I asked them yesterday if any were bent, because I'd found a few that were when I went into it on my days in, and they were all, "No, none of them are bent." However, I had A Bad Feeling About This and manually checked all the ones remaining and um...that's a lot of 'em. About 22% on the list that were still here originally were bent. I can't speak for the ones that already have been mailed, but I'm guessing we'll get some complaints and have to reorder those.

I had to think VERY TACTFULLY about how to say, "Please don't mail out the bent ones, just order them a new one already or else we'll be back and forthing ordering another one for months." I literally put notes about them all on the spreadsheet and put a personal "Please don't mail this, the corner is bent, please just reorder this" (with arrows drawn) note on every damaged ID in the box. I used up an entire pad of Post-Its on this activity and had to get more and my handwriting got sloppier and sloppier. My new coworkers took this very well, thank goodness. We'll see in execution, I guess.

After lunch I did the third of three work classes. I note it's Career Development week at Giant Org and it was supposed to be a week of classes, so all these programs are supposed to be going on. This one SOUNDED like it was a transferable skills class (like, that phrase was in the name), so okay, sounds great, right? Hm, nope. To be fair, they provided us with a few links/maybe five minutes of conversation on the topic, but MOST of it was dedicated to some program that I'm guessing most of us had never bloody heard of. A lot of us are automatically in a union (whether or not it's a good union is another story for another time....), and this was a special program for the non-union people, essentially defining what levels of imaginary promotion they might achieve. And apparently this class was mostly dedicated to explaining what this meant, because it's hard!

Now, here that's a fucking joke because you can never get a reclassification or get moved to a higher level of anything, and people were ah, commenting on that, and how you can only ever get a pay raise by getting a new job. (Spotted a former sorta-coworker on this chat and man, he was on fire on this topic.) Frankly, I think everyone just got Annoyed on this topic, and I said my supervisor tried to get me reclassed years ago and was ignored, and I think what this class actually covers was entirely different than what I THOUGHT it was going to cover, then I got people privately messaging me on chat to agree with that. Some people said that every class they'd done this week was a waste, and I totally agree.

They also waited until three minutes before the end of class to do Mandatory Chat With Your Group And Network Time, and I saw the class going from 100+ whatever to 80, 79...I noped out of there too, because fuck that. Well, at least I had something else to do for 3 hours this week and can add the classes onto my performance review, so there's that, at least. And I note that the saved job search function thing did work in my email today, even if it just showed me a bunch of jobs I can't do. It doesn't help that my job classification is incredibly generic and I can't really specify "no finance jobs, no travel jobs" or any of that in there. Alas.

Protests are still going on. I tried to walk by the bus stop to check out the drama, but there wasn't any. Looks like the cops have completely fenced it off, along with the nearest parking garage. I guess they are protesting closer to the street or something, but I was far too lazy to slog out there. One of my coworkers went out and took pictures, though. I did email my friend on strike and she said it was actually kinda fun out there.

As for the stupid VPN, I finally got told "log out and log into this address, it should work on its own, if not log out and log back in in 20 minutes." Guess how many times I've tried this and it hasn't worked? Five. Finally the tech guy said it doesn't matter if it ever updates or not, it still works and he's closing the ticket. I announced all of this on work slack, and then a guy is all "put in a ticket, Steve fixed mine in 5 minutes." Me: "I PUT IN A TICKET LAST WEEK AND I HAVE BEEN GOING BACK AND FORTH WITH THEM ALL FOR DAYS." Whoever the fuck Steve is, I did not draw him in Tech Guy Lotto!

Tap class: good to be back. Did a lot of jumping, and tapping to the William Tell overture, and shuffling things I can't describe. Next week, no classes, which makes sense since most people wouldn't go (except me!). I did tell the teacher what I look like in the show (I note she's never seen my face since class is masked)--she said she can usually tell by body movement and I said, "yeah, but I'm wearing 75 pounds of clothes!" Good point.

After that I was all "hey, let's go start on this year's Hallmark movies," but apparently NONE of them are on Frndly TV yet. It's all 2021 shows and older. Da hell?! Oh well, guess I won't start that tonight.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com