Chaos Attraction

UPS Sucks

2022-11-21, 9:40 p.m.

I went into the office--it's 32 degrees out, FFS, I note the guy in my tap class said it's as cold here as it was when he lived in New York--and we still don't have our package. No update, nothing. What a waste of time, and I'm getting email complaints as to why haven't I sent it yet already. I complained to management on this and there's nothing we can do about UPS being UPS-shitty as ever on the delivery. I pointed out some other mail issues and they were all, "Is this a problem right now?" and I said not this second, but could happen in the future and I'd like to be proactive about it. (This is to say, can we change our mailing address temporarily and then change it again if/when things "go back to normal," because there may be some Issues with this "let's handle it on a case by case basis" idea of theirs.) Also, all of this stuff is technically mailed to great-grandboss for some reason, and while she's here today, odds are high she books it to another state ASAP and what happens if she's not there to get it? I mentioned this to her and she was all "they won't care as long as you prove you work here." Uh...ok, I guess...

Basically they refused to do anything because "the strike may end soon" (me: LOLnope I don't think it's ending in December...I have been through strikes before and they tend to go about 1-2 months), and I continue to be irritated AF that they won't plan ahead about anything. Because Optimism! FFS. God, I hate optimists.

Meanwhile, I never heard from mail services directly, but they finally updated their website/Slack to say "someone has to drive out to another location to pick up mail." THAT would be on managers to do around here, ahem.


In other news, Shiny Unicorn monologue planning is going on, I've booked to do one delightfully cranky monologue, am not sure what others I'll do. I gave Kelly a list of three possible--there's another drunk one I could do, there's a third one I like but the character is VERY posh city labels and crap, which I am not, so maybe someone else should do it, I dunno.

I don't think I mentioned this, but I saw an audition for Bright Star in Sac in mid-December. I don't know why this stuck out to me since I know nothing about the show other than who wrote it. I looked up the plot details of it and I can't say I'm in love with it--pregnant teenager has her baby taken away and reunites with baby when he's legal, essentially. I don't know why I'm considering it other than "practice audition," really. I should try listening to it or see if there's a knockoff online to see if I'd care.

I signed up to do a crochet-a-day online advent calendar thing to keep me busy. Upon looking at it, I may need to go out and get more shades of DK yarn. Considered ordering online but I probably can't get before December 1. I think I'll just make a run to Joann's/Michael's/the fancy yarn store, in that order, if necessary. The fancy store will have better color selection if I can't find enough at the other two, and I'm going to have to go to a regular sewing supplies store for a few things like safety eyes anyway.

I also got permission to go to Stitches West on two workdays. I've booked two classes on Thursday on sweater making and pattern adjusting, and then Friday to go to the market with Meg.

I was going to watch more Hallmark tonight, but I found that Leverage: Redemption is back on and I had to go watch that. I enjoyed it. Then I tried watching "Bright Star" online to see if it's any good. So far um...kinda bored? I swear it took ten minutes to cover "your mom died." So far I find it kinda slow for my tastes, but the girl cast as Alice in this (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P6t3Jp7Qlo8) is killing it every time she sings. Otherwise, it has a plot and I like some of the songs, but probably not enough to drive a half hour away to the city every night to audition/rehearse for it. Eh, whatever...

I also updated ye olde journal through the end of September. Had to write up things going to hell with Scott, sigh. I look forward to the day I'm finally over it all and no longer care.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com