Chaos Attraction

Mom Broke Her Shoulder

2022-11-23, 9:42 p.m.

Work: spent the day proofreading EVERYthing that has been done over the last year--whether or not it was my errors or not, apparently. However, New Big Boss let us all leave at 2:20 p.m., HUZZAH LOVE YA NBB!!!! So I went home to chill on my patio with crafts.
I went out to check on the protesting today and the barricade was completely gone. The heck? They're already gone for the holidays?

I did buy myself another advent calendar to make, 'cause I'm obsessed. And I ordered a stuffed corgi and corgi calendar off Corgi on Fleek, both to help with medical bills and because well, this may be Gatsby's last calendar (he's got about 9 months before the cancer comes back, sigh.)

Singing lesson: did nothing but breathing exercises today. Hard stuff.

Welp, bad news....my mom tripped and fell in Hoarder House and hurt her shoulder, so now she's in the ER, not doing Thanksgiving tomorrow, and presumably Roger now knows officially that it's a hoarder house. He did not address that particular fact with me on the phone, mind you, and I'm afraid to ask. (She did not get on the phone.) They could get an appointment for 9 p.m. tonight (surprising on many levels). Unsure what else will be going on with regards to relatives, if Evan will still be going (I presume not, I wouldn't if I were him, Roger made comments about finding an alternative to go to, in general). I asked if the relatives had been told yet and he said no.

He did really like the show, though, at least! So there's that! (Now I'm really glad they went last weekend.)

At 6:45, Mom texted that Roger was getting dinner but she's not allowed to eat until "they pop it back." She said dislocated and a fracture and she's never been in this much pain and she's cold in only hospital gowns on front and back. Oy. I asked if Roger had seen the house and um...SOMEHOW HE STILL HASN'T SEEN THE HOUSE. Because WITH A FRACTURE AND A DISLOCATION SHE GOT HERSELF OUT OF THE HOUSE. I can't even. Stubborn Taurus, INDEED.

Text from Roger, 7:45 p.m. dislocated shoulder, small fracture, they can't "put her under" where she was so they had to drive to Walnut Creek, she's waiting to be put under there. Also she's "texting him crazy" (not entirely sure what this is referring to, but she's super irritating when ill so I can take a guess) and "You OWE me." with the cry-while-laugh emoji. Relatives are called that "we" aren't coming, I'm not entirely sure if I'm still invited? I dunno, man.

Tonight's movie: Falling for Christmas, the infamous "Lindsay Lohan is back, but don't call it a comeback" movie! I keep putting off watching it, but it's time. It's the plot of Overboard, but without any sleazy shit. Sierra is a spoiled heiress who kinda wants to do something with her life instead of pose for selfies and whatnot. Then her influencer boyfriend hauls her up a mountain, proposes, then they both fall of it separately. Tad the boyfriend has a heinous experience washing up by a fisherman, while Sierra is found by Jake, the hunky B&B owner who takes her in since she has no ID and "nobody's looking for her" (i.e. her dad left town, Tad's gone, the employees are baffled). "Sarah" gamely pitches in on doing household chores she knows nothing about, which is sweet.

I note that the doctor (who seems a little dubious) called it "Amnesia...or something like it."

It's pretty much the same as every other Christmas movie, though I do note that Tad the fiance is not only not at all bothered to be dumped, just thinks about the boost to his followers, then immediately asks out a dude. That's..new. Chord and Lindsay come off well enough, and I think the mother-in-law is very sweet.

I also got all of October's entries posted, so yay there.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com