Chaos Attraction

Wishy-Washy

2022-11-13, 9:27 p.m.

This morning, I did a Zoom with Meg and Jade (and very briefly Val). I kept it brief and positive and only talked about theater and crafting.

Mom was weird: she calls in a panic during the Zoom to say "oh, I bought tickets for today but Roger doesn't feel well so I want a refund." I was thinking, "Hello, if you'd told me when you were going to go I WOULD HAVE GIVEN YOU MY FREE TICKETS," but at this point all I could say was "call the box office and get your tickets changed and try to go next weekend and not Thanksgiving in case everyone gets covid." Which she did. (Steve, later: "Your mom's not coming to the show.") I do quietly give her props for throwing in a theater donation while she was at it, though. My tap teacher emailed to say she was going Friday, so Felicia and I didn't concern ourselves AS much about nitpicking our tapping :P Nobody we really knew in this one after that.

Show: well, some more people than the last few nights, but still pretty low on people,. sigh. Saw Monica and I think that was about it for people I know. I did pretty well--my Fezziwig dress is fixed and I can actually zip it myself without help, yay. I did an especially good job on my solo tonight, yay for that as well. Steve complimented me (a) moaning during "Money Machine Montage" and (b) torturing Scrooge, so that made me happy. Morgan said I am doing a good job too.

A few people had incidents--Sage had some hair fall off during Fezziwig (they have a lot of wigs/hairpieces), and most notably, Don apparently got trapped behind some sets and missed his "walk out and play a drunk" cue, sadly. The rest of us couldn't think of fuckall to do, but Omar asked Scrooge to dance, so there was that, at least.

Soji is going to make Jan a ceramic mug with our names on it. Cool!

Quotes: Noel had on a show advertising a baroque orchestra. James of course had to make an "if it ain't baroque, don't fix it" joke. I said he should have said that when Omar was around.


James had some kind of meeting so this was one of the two shows he wasn't stage managing, so Jan did it. "I think Jan knows the show pretty well?"

Omar, after being complimented/being told people's family members loved him: "I do demand a lot of the stage."

I didn't get this down exactly, but Sage was talking about the difficulties of trying to practice tapping while in Crocs.

Sarah was trying to get Steve over here to do the sound checks (he'd wandered off to the box office) and started yelling "Steven!" which he haaaaaaaates. I commented on that and she said, "He's in trouble."

Speaking of sound issues, Dannette's was briefly on.
Omar: "Hey, Dannette, your mic is on."
Sage: "Don't say anything you'd regret."
Don: "Or go to the bathroom."

Stacy on Alex playing with toy cars: "That car is going way past the speed limit."

Noel on a former castmate from years ago: "(Name) would have hung from the rafters if we let him."

Morgan on Titanic: "...Until Tomas gets hit in the head and gets a concussion..."

Boris on the music ("Nothing To Do With Me," I think?) "It's such a weird arrangement, it sounds like chaos to me."

Sage to Alex: "Do you want me to pick you up like a forklift?"

Stacy to me, doing creepy voice: "Zips and bows. That's my line now."

I mentioned awhile back seeing a cute guy at Whole Earth Festival who complimented my tie dye. (I have since tried to walk by the spot I saw him at whenever I can, but so far, no dice.) I think he might have turned up at the show? I'm not quite sure if it's the same guy, but the guy had a strong resemblance to Hot Now-Dead Mountie Guy from When Calls The Heart/many Hallmark movies, and there was another one like that in row 2. No wedding ring, but I think he was a dad with a kid (sitting one seat away, he carried a kid backpack on the way out). He looked politely bored through the show. So...there's that. Well, at least his kid seemed into it.

Post-show, I went out to dinner with Sage/Soji/Marin/Other Jennifer/Steve the Beadle/Maya/Alex/Dannette/Jan/Don, at a restaurant I rarely go to but it had EXCELLENT butternut squash and roasted mushroom pizza. Who knew, right? Delish. I sat by Jan and talked about auditions. Several people asked if I was auditioning tonight for Cabaret and I said no. Morgan thinks I can go for one of the frau parts ("Would you cast me?" "Yes.") but I doubt Jan would--I kind of fished about for this at dinner and I don't think so, she talked about using me for a "sits around and watches the cabaret" part if anything if I did audition. (I note Dannette is going for those parts.) I said if she didn't get enough warm bodies at the auditions, let me know, and left it at that. At least that sounds like a slacker/easy ensemble bit there if that's all you do. She said I could join the marketing committee because she didn't want to lose having me around, aww. Well, we'll see. Mostly she just pitched Pirates as being "for everyone." Hm. We'll see.

I admit I'm curious as to who they are going to get for it. Morgan is very hyped to get Sally Bowles (and frankly, I hope she does), Sarah wants to go for it, beyond that, I don't know. Whoever wants to be a sexy dancer around here will get in, anyway. I'm pretty baffled as to who they'd get for the rest of it. Maybe random people. Morgan's pretty concerned that not too many people RSVP'd online about going and we probably get around 20-ish people auditioning at shows in general, and then you weed out whoever realizes they can't do it and quits, or only wanted a lead (Dannette said that's what she was going for and if she didn't get those, she's fine with skipping it and having time in December to do other things) or whatever.

After that, I got groceries and went home and took that blissful post-tech-week, post-opening shower. Now I am at home, fucking off, eating ice cream and watching television. Usually I'm at rehearsals Sunday nights (or would be auditioning), but here I am lounging about watching Fake Princess Di and crocheting. It feels good.

Truly I don't care one way or the other if I do Cabaret or not? I'm very so-so on the issue. Don't love it, don't hate it, whatever. "It's a possible maybe." Like I COULD audition tomorrow at the last minute if I wanted to, certainly. But do I care? Morgan was concerned about not many people auditioning and I checked: 5 marked as going and 6 interested marked for Sunday and 1 marked as going and 2 interested (one of them being Scott....sigh) Monday. That seems...low. Told Mom I was considering it and she was all "Annie is on the 14th, could you make that?" "Probably not." "Do what you want." Sigh. I don't think I'd want to try for either fraulein part, one being depressing and the other literally running around in her underwear, apparently. So....I dunno.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com