Chaos Attraction

Back on track with changing colors

2001-11-17, 9:31 p.m.

I am now officially on track again with NaNoWriMo! As I've been saying to myself for the past few days, today I was going to make myself write, and I did. I'm now nearly at 30,000 words. I finished chapter 7 today, and a long, drawn-out chapter it is, too. But then again, it's covering over a month's worth of my heroine becoming more and more of an jerk and temporary addict to a magical potion that she's quickly becoming immune to. No wonder I kept putting writing it off, but it came out really well in the end. Now we're on to the trickiest part of all because I've planned it out so far the least- the introduction of her ex, who has now come to work at the same paper as she is, as one of her editors again (that's how they met the first time). I generally know how I want this story to go, but I really need to think out how I'm going to work this chapter before I write it, so I've stopped for the night. I wanted to hit 30,000 exactly to finish off my night, but I just had to stop with my heroine drinking before I went into her former love life. Oh well. Most of this plot I've thought out while trying to fall asleep, so hopefully I'll take care of it tonight =)

I do want to get ahead again in case more stuff happens in life to break my stride, but really, I guess I shouldn't worry all that much. Most folks I know are still under 10k, after all.

Other than that it has been a do-nothing day. For some strange reason I decided to go to the Farmers Market this morning. I'd really rather go when they start having the craft/gift stuff out in a few weeks, so I don't know why I had the bug up my butt to go today. Little did I know the infamous Turkey Trot run actually goes by this neighborhood, and I was surprised to run into a pack of joggers hitting the finish line by me. Likewise, the market was so dang packed with people, sellers, and petition-wavers that I barely looked at anything and didn't even snag any free samples. Sheesh. I'm much more of an afternoon marketer, I think. I hardly ever go during the winter months. I usually don't even buy the food, since I can never eat fresh stuff fast enough before it goes bad and I end up totally wasting money. Ah, the trials of a single slow-eatin' girl.

I wish I could go watch the meteor shower tonight, but this early-morning schedule has completely screwed up my body. I don't think I'll be able to be awake till midnight without the assistance of a lot of drunk screaming people surrounding me and plying me with daquiries, much less till 2 a.m. "when it gets realy good." Even if I chug Dew from now on and wash my hair (that'll wake me up for a bit, but who wants to go out at midnight with wet hair?). How sad is that? I have one coworker who turned 25 and was complaining about how old and ancient he was getting, and I completely laughed at his ass for that, but having a really early bedtime most of the week makes me feel old and pathetic. As a KID I didn't even have to go to bed until "maybe around eleven", since the parents stayed up till midnight or so.

So I found this Colorgenics test tonight, and holy crap, is it ever accurate! I mean, really...

"You are in a state of constant expectation ... and want interesting and exciting things to happen to you. But in fact you are a Walter Mitty at times....a dreamer - over imaginative and often given to fantasy or day-dreaming." (Hence the novel)

"You are lazy ... You dream of a peaceful, calm, uncluttered and uncomplicated life. Your ideal would be to share a permanent base with some person or persons who would be able to demonstrate on-goinglove, peace and security.

Nothing seems to be going right for you, and you are thwarted every way you turn. You are not at all happy with the situation but it would appear that there is very little that you can do about it at this time..." (GOD, yes.) "Sit back...let the situation take its course.

You are being unduly influenced by the situation that is all around you. You do not like the feeling of loneliness and whatever it is that seems to separate you from others." (Damn straight.) "You know that life can be wonderful and you are anxious to experience life.

You don't like conflict and you endeavour to avoid criticism." (Oh HELL YEAH.) "You want to do your own thing and to be able to decide what is right for you. You have considerable personable charm - and this is not on those that keep your company."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com