Chaos Attraction

Who's going to walk you down?

2001-11-18, 5:45 p.m.

Who's going to walk you down?

I had a fun goof-off day today instead of writing, I'm afraid. The roommate wanted to go to IHOP because she was craving a salad, then we went around to various stores (thrift shopping, WalMart) looking for stuff. I spent too much money, but I might as well enjoy that while I can. As well as buying a bunch of household stuff, we got the hamster a new tunnel thing that goes around in a circle (currently he's stuck at the top of it, presumably fearing to get down) and I picked up two more Christmas CD's for review- NBC Celebrity Christmas (the selling point for this one, as my roommate put it, was "Two dollah!" She sometimes talks like that, we don't know why.), which is pretty traditional so far, and the HILARIOUS JohnBoy and Billy's Nerve-Wrackin' Christmas Part 2, which I will highly recommend. I also got ... permanent hair dye. A light red-blonde. Normally I do NOT do permanent hair dyeing because of the root issue, but I got talked into it, and the roommate dyed it for me... and it's very pretty. Who knew?

In the grand tradition of something always coming around to ruin a happy good day, my mom chose to call while I was waiting for the dye to take effect. She was NOT happy. In that "I'm about to cry right now, except you're talking on the phone with your roommate in the room and so I can't" way, so maybe it was a good thing we weren't alone. She was (a) WAITING ALL WEEKEND to hear how things with the thing-I-cannot-mention were going (okay, I was a jerk for not calling her about that), (b) thinking I really need to start styling my hair so I'll look professional (she managed to mix a and b together into her argument at once- don't ask me how that happened). While sounding like she was going to cry. She was saying how she REALLY doesn't need me giving her anything else to worry about. Hey, it's not like I did that deliberately or anything- I didn't want to give anybody anything to worry about.

Turns out that they finally caved in and got a van this weekend-- which actually sounds really nice- red with a VCR in it!!!- okay, I'm easily excited at the idea of a van, we needed a lot more space even before disease came into our lives. But the crying thing came because they went to Mom's high school best friend's oldest son's wedding (yeah, I can barely keep it straight myself) yesterday. Which was apparently a very beautiful, most romantic ceremony ever type of thing. (The proposal, incidentally, came with him wearing a mascot suit, or so the story goes.) And Dad was a total wreck because (a) he doesn't want to be seen how he looks now-- and I can't really blame him for feeling that way, he does look a lot different... and (b), as Mom euphemistically put it, "thinking about where he's going to be when you get married." Yeah. Dead in the ground.

I may be a feminist and everything, but I just get REALLY pissed off when I hear about chicks like Amy Carter or whoever telling their fathers they don't want to be walked down the aisle because of one reason or another. At least they get the option. I always wanted my father to walk me down the aisle and now he never will be able to. He won't even get to see me get married unless I do it in the next few years (and that ain't likely). I don't get to have my dad at my wedding. Who the hell am I going to get to walk me down the aisle? My father-in-law? But what if he's a jerk? What am I going to do for the father-daughter things? Bleah, now I'm crying. I wish I could get myself married off for him in time, but the damn men will NOT cooperate with me on that. Don't they see I'm on a time limit here? I've only got so long to have a wedding he can even attend. If I get real lucky, maybe we can have the wedding in his hospital room while I cry and cry through the whole thing.

Why does everything always have to go to crap in my family?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com