Chaos Attraction

Never Sew on Friday the Thirteenth

2002-12-13, 9:23 p.m.

Boy, is this depressing. After reading this, I'm considering putting my NaNoWriMo novel online and giving up on ever trying to do something real with it. Not that it's done yet, mind you- I haven't had the heart to do much with it in the last week- but at least then it would actually get read.


Maybe I should take that advice.


Dave's week was good, bad, and ugly.

The good: he signed on with a temp agency.

The bad: The guy in charge of hiring at the place that liked him just quit AND made off with all the applications, so he had to apply again and wait another week. How stupid is this? At this point, I'm giving up hope on that one. That's just a BAD Sign.

And the temp agency hasn't called. Big surprise there. Hell, I only ever got called once.

The ugly: Dave had one of those nights this week. The kind I normally have, where the parents gather 'round the table to berate me at great length about what an awful person I am. Only guess what, they decided to berate him about me. I don't know where they got this, because I wasn't saying anything to them (Dave thinks they're getting their info from S&D, the blabbermouths), but they apparently berated him for (a) being jealous regarding certain sexual jokes J&N made towards me on Friday- "if it doesn't bother her, it shouldn't bother you", (b) being too clingy and not giving me space- they apparently don't approve of public affection and said it embarrassed everyone around us, (c) going on to me about future children- apparently Demma outed me as a child-hater or something (Dave apologized to me left and right about that after this), and (d) generally being an utter bastard. He was not allowed to defend himself or point out anything such as "Hey, she grabs on to me right back"- they kept yelling that it was for his own good. Oh yeah, and he doesn't kiss his grandmother's ass enough.

Sounds so familiar, eh?

He has the idea in his head that if I talked to his parents, they'd calm down. I dunno about that- since they got these ideas that Dave was so awful on their own (hello, did it seem to be bothering me any?), I suspect that anything I said would be read as "Oh, you're just trying to defend him."

I think it's a good thing that I won't be there this weekend. Maybe then they'll cool off.

Then he started going on about how my parents hate him. They really don't, I said, or it'd be a lot worse and they'd be a lot less cooperative. "They're cooperative now?!?" he said. Okay, good point, but it could be a lot worse. Then again, it would be a lot better if the two of us were say, 28, 30 years old, both in "settled" careers, and him being at the very least in college, and then announcing engagement. Honestly, I think they'd have been okay with that, as okay as they'd ever get. But we didn't, and we blew it.


The weather is fricking nasty. "El Nino has returned!" the weather people are proclaiming all over the place. I stayed indoors all day at work and had lunch via vending machine. It is not only very wet, but WINDY. I am soooo glad I wasn't traveling via bus and train tonight. (Especially since I found a link today saying that women are 63% more likely to die in traffic accidents on Friday the Thirteenth. As Fark is always saying, "Cure for cancer still not found.") I was planning to NOT leave the house this entire weekend.

I've spent my week sewing, hence no updates. It was going well. I'm about halfway done with it. Until tonight, when I finished putting in the zipper and then zipped it up, and the head flew off the zipper.

CRAP. Time for another shopping trip tomorrow.

And did I mention that for some insane reason the instructions for the dress say to HAND SEW both the lining and the dress hem? TWICE? EACH?

WHY?


Found out that my doctor is putting me back on antibiotics again for the cough from hell. Whee.


Mom just called to share the news that Dad, i.e. "Mr. Shy", took two hours to pee in a cup at the doctor. Okay, THAT was special and crucial to know...

(For those of you wondering why I'm sharing this with you all, I'm putting it in for Sara, who says she enjoys the Mom tales.)


Though I am in a good mood now, because Jackie just sent me a bunch of cool weird presents! Whee! Fake trick smoke, a Happy Bunny shirt, dumbass-themed fridge magnets, a Legoland temperature magnet, a "Worst Case Survival" card, a Mickey disco ball ornament... all lots of fun!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com