Chaos Attraction

When First We Practice To Deceive

2002-12-22, 11:03 p.m.

Ah, the irony: Dave didn't make it to my work party after all.

Why, you ask? Because on his way to my place from the station, he hurt his hip falling down while running from a driver who was yapping on his cell phone and not paying attention to who he hit. I think he MIGHT possibly get my point about the drivers in this town now... He wasn't hurt too badly (not the way I was), mind you, but it wouldn't have been pleasant to hike across town in the POURING rain for that.

No biggie, as the party turned out to be rather small and dull. I assume most people weren't wanting to go out in the hurricane. I left quite early... to find out that in my absence, Dave had decided to rearrange my room once again. Only this time he decided to remove the doors on my closet- which, had I been there to see it, I would have said NO to. Now the doors are stuck alongside my bookcases on the floor, and I can't put them back up. Oww, my toe.

The weekend was pretty good, and involved lots of CD burning. Hill was burning wacky Christmas mix CD's for us and others, and Dave did some for gifts. I also gave him his stocking of stuff, which he seemed to enjoy for the most part. His for me wasn't ready yet- apparently he's getting his favorite picture of us blown up and framed.

We also saw The Two Towers, which in all honesty I wasn't that hot for. It wasn't bad, mind you, but I got annoyed at some plot changes, and I have never liked Gollum. Plus the battle stuff was well, too much for me. (I was apparently jumping through all of that.)

(Note: 2 spoiler paragraphs below, if you care, skip past the lines.)


On chat after I saw it, elph mentioned that in the book, the battle of Helm's Deep is about 45 words long. Which made me very relieved, because I do NOT, at all, remember reading anything about this battle. I went back and looked for the words "Helm's Deep" in the book and didn't even find it mentioned in that section of the book.

Helm's Deep in the movie is oh, the entire last third or so of it. It's a whole lot of "300 not so well trained or rightly aged men and a cool fortress with one weak spot, versus 10,000 men with ladders," for ages and ages of DOOM. And this goes on for ever, until suddenly, the cavalry shows up, and "oh, by the way, the battle's over." The hell? They don't even SHOW the battle being over?


I think the antibiotics aren't helping either. I had another coughing fit today- not vomit cough, but bad enough. Same old congestion after 4 days issue. Nothing seems to be making this go away, the various medications I'm on are really only lessening the severity of the coughing fits when they happen. I may have to resign myself to eternal coughing, as nothing gets rid

of the congestion. Grrr.

Mom got Dave a Christmas gift. Surprise, surprise. I wonder if she ever finished the other one yet. I'm quite proud of her, though I have doubts that it (it's a shirt) will fit, as she got it at a big and tall shop. According to Dave, he's tall, but not big, so stuff there does not fit him. I told Mom this and she didn't believe a whit of it, so who knows. If it fit, it'd be great though- he so needs some more nice clothes if at all possible.

I am kind of baffled and excited about having the day off tomorrow. A Monday in which I'm NOT going to work? There's a shocker. I don't know what I'm going to do with myself, other than go with Hill to Target so she can spend her gift certificate. Well, that and LIE to my parents like hell about my working that day. I told them my e-mail would probably be out at work for the next two weeks so they could do repairs while the students were gone, and they immediately wanted to e-mail me, e-mail me at home, blah blah blah... I really don't know how I'm going to cover up my absence online if I end up at Dave's the entire week and a half.

Mom is all in a snit because Aunt Susie hasn't told her what the plans are for Christmas. She's been too busy visiting this relative and that relative and going skiing, you see, and Mom is feeling all neglected and uncared for. (See, it's not just me that makes her feel that way.) And she hasn't heard anything because she went out to dinner tonight, Aunt S. called while she was out, and Mom didn't get home until after Aunt S. goes to bed (at 9 a.m., for godsake). So Mom's all on her high horse, going "Well, FINE, if she doesn't really want us, then I'll just go pick you up tomorrow and we'll spend Christmas just the three of us."

At first this actually sounded nice to me- no trying to figure out anyone else's Christmas traditions, no Auntie Dolores and other PITAS to deal with, one last Christmas Eve doing our own thing, I could wander off and call Dave whenever the hell I wanted to for the most part... until she said she wanted to pick me up immediately from work.

Uh-oh.

"Uh, no, you can't."

"Why not? We'll just pick you up straight from work, take you to your apartment so you can pick stuff up..."

"Um, it'd be easier for me if you didn't."

"Why? You WANT to walk all the way home?"

Crap.

They haven't caught on yet, but she's definitely making it difficult for me. She REALLY wanted me to call her during lunch on my cell phone (sure, when I'll probably be out with Hill in a crowded store), because she's going to call Aunt S. at the crack of dawn to HOPEFULLY catch her and find out if we're really wanted or not. So now, because she insisted that she REALLY, REALLY wanted to call me, I have to wake up at 7 a.m. and call her to find out for SURE what we are doing, and I am supposed to be packing this evening for it. Hah.

I think we are going to her house, really, and this alternate pick-me-up-Monday plan isn't that likely. It's more of a case of "Well, tell us when you want to come!" vs. "No, tell us when you want us to come!" from what I understand of what Mom said. Aunt S. says to tell her when we want to come visit, Mom would NEVER do such a thing and wants personal invites, Aunt S. doesn't always do personal invites. Blah blah blah potatoe potato whatthefuckever. I don't think my aunt would ever totally come off with the "Well, if you really want to come..." attitude for it so that Mom would cancel. But in the meantime, I'm feeling all irritated. I already have to wake up at 7 a.m. every day to take the antibiotics for a few days more (wah, that so ruined my weekend sleep), so that was why I didn't outright object to this idea. But after I've woken up, taken pills and had a long yapping conversation with Mom, I know I will definitely not be getting back to sleep...

I don't really know what the plans are for the next few weeks. I may be outta here as of tomorrow night and won't get to be online again for two weeks, I may be home for awhile at the end of next week if Dave doesn't have to work then, I really don't know. But either way, this is probably the last entry going up for a few weeks. Hope y'all have a good one!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com