Chaos Attraction

Presents Galore

2001-12-24, 5:46 p.m.

(Yes, I intended to write an entry for every day. Alas, my parents� net access died the day I got there, and thus I�m posting the paper journal entries I wrote instead a few weeks late. Sorry �bout that.)

12/24:

We did make it to Borders and a few other places today, where I got a few gifts ("Which Lie Did I Tell? More Adventures of the Screen Trade" and four Daria episodes) and Dad got a ton, as did a few other folks. I heart shopping.

Mom started wondering on the ride home if my preferred method of birth control (shot) would make me unable to have children in the future. I restrained myself from saying "I sure hope so!", as she�d never believe me about not wanting kids AND start wigging out about me taking it. (I�m due for another shot this week) I said I wouldn�t want to have kids in my 20�s anyway.

After that, we went home and wrapped. That was really the whole day. Tree? What tree? Mom decided to resurrect the German tradition of putting it up Christmas Eve, or so she claimed. (As of this writing, it�s only half assembled.)

Dinner with the aunt and uncle was, well� the usual, I guess. Uncle Bruce called Auntie Dolores the "master of unemployment." I don�t think she was happy about that. They both asked about "what am I doing with my spare time?" When we got to the table, the rest of us were talking about the lack of Internet access problem, but Auntie D was VERY bored with that conversation and kept saying that she didn�t want to talk about that At. All. They ignored her! So trying to change the conversation, she brought up the old dating crap. I said I was overloaded with boys, but my love life is generally dull and that is why I don�t talk about it. Oddly, she seemed to agree. Most of the time they yapped about the cruise they went on.

Dad asked about Ron and Laurie, and boy, were they mad about that. Apparently Laurie had agreed to come over ahead of time, then bailed at the last minute, claiming she was busy. Auntie D called her a "b-i-t-c-h, in capital letters and underlined!" Eeeek. While I can�t blame Laurie for not wanting to go, the last minute implausible bailout was just stupid of her. They should just get divorced already, I swear. I am SO glad I don�t have in-laws to have to visit and deal with in my life, you have no idea. What a frigging pain in the ass!

Presents went well! I got a glass necklace�the best present ever from them, I was impressed. The adults all got each other little gifts and gift certificates, which went over well.

They did nag us several times about how we should go to church. Since none of us is into the Catholic religion at all at this point, that didn�t go over well, even if they are my godparents.

We went home and eventually opened gifts. I got (in addition to the stuff I saw this morning) a Dave Barry book collection, CD holder, ornaments, Irish harp necklace, heart earrings, bath stuff in a purse, a manicure kit and lots of clothes. Oddly enough, they�re really more spring clothes than winter stuff, so no wearing them right off the bat in public, but very nice. I love the blue and green dress I got, and am wearing it tomorrow.

As for the presents I gave, Mom loved her stuff. Harder to tell with Dad, who seemed baffled by the frame and the bear, though he did find the latter amusing. Oh well. As usual, win some, lose some.

You may be interested to hear that Mom read off Aunt Susie�s holiday letter (written from the cat�s POV), which was all about (a) what the cat does all day, (b) the girls in school, (c) one mention that business sucks for Mom and Dad, and (d) where they went on vacation. No mention of the exchange student at all. Hmmmmmm�


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com