Chaos Attraction

Back and armed with clothes/books/toys/food! Whee!

2002-01-05, 11:53 p.m.

Well, I'm back. Late as usual, but I'm here! And feeling surprisingly good for all the moping around and "I don't WANNA go back" I was doing earlier.

Just to let you know, I did end up resolving things with Mom yesterday. She left the house to go get food, and I went and changed the sheets on her bed (we ended up having a phone fight when she called while I was in the middle of that), changed her towels, set the table, put some of the dishes away, and offered to wash the sheets (this never got done), and suddenly all was happy and forgiven.

Today was a nice, pleasant day. The parents had to go back to the hospital for more gross test stuff, and Mom dropped me off at the mall and gave me some bucks to spend. I ended up buying a keychain Tetris game (I'm the Tetris queen) and this card game called Chrononauts, which looks to be supercool and I can't wait to get to playing it. (Um, after I check sites on the net I haven't read for two weeks...) After getting those, I was delighted. There weren't a lot of people in the store beyond the two bored salesclerks, who seemed to be keeping an eye on me. I went in the store for a bit, then went to check the rest of the mall, then returned, and one's all "You came back!" The other told me a story about how Tetris killed his aunt (not really, but she was an addict), which was cute. Maybe they don't get a lot of girls in the game store?

We stopped at a Target on the way home, and Mom bought me a few more things that I needed (such as an ironing board), and they also bought me groceries for like a month. I am stocked to the gills, which is reassuring. I also got to deposit all my Christmas money/401K check/unemployment checks today, which really boosted the old checking account (despite having to write the rent check today). I'm not feeling as worried as I was about running out of rent money before August as I was, which is nice.

I'm now pondering whether or not to move after this year's lease is up. To where, I don't know. I don't know if Hill will want an apartment here for another year or not (she should be graduating by next December), I don't know if I want to keep this one and try to find another roommate if she doesn't. Annoyingly, in this town you have to decide these things fairly quickly (they ask you if you want to renew your lease in the winter, you have to find another apartment by the start of summer), and I'd prefer to wait until I find out if I'll be likely to be employed for a full year or not. If not, I might as well move home than sign another year's lease in this town (no month-to-month or anything else is available). But if I move to another town (probably in northern CA, hopefully one with good public transport), maybe I could find shorter leases available or something. Who knows. It's all ambiguous right now.

I have an enormous pile of e-mail to check- Webmail didn't download most of it at all- so I should go off and finish reading/deleting and all.

I think I'm liking this update-every-day thing. Perhaps I shall keep it up!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com