Chaos Attraction

Why Stalking Employers Is A Waste Of Your Time

2002-01-08, 11:17 p.m.

As you perhaps guessed, I spent the entire day yesterday catching up online and writing e-mail. I heard back from the ex-editor, which went well. I heard from my best friend, not having fun at work. I heard from my cousin, who's finally gotten the girl of his dreams (good for him!). I heard from the Flak editor, who wants to do a phone interview! Between writing a bunch of folks back and writing other e-mails to people, I have been swamped in that department. I've also been trying to hunt up my old job reference people, one of whom I e-mailed, the other I am still trying to track down because I lost her contact info (I know, I know, but any small piece of paper I've been holding on to for a year is guaranteed to get lost). I had to e-mail my ex-boss asking if she still had contact info for this woman, eep. Never heard back from her, though. Hmmmm.

My exciting point of the day last night was finding out that the Pax channel (which normally I have no use for) airs Remington Steele at 4 p.m. every day! Woo hoo! I got to see the very first episode of it, which I'd never caught before. I heart Pierce Brosnan.

I spent the night compulsively playing Chrononauts, which I'm loving more and more by the minute. Hill came in last night and I think she is getting intrigued by the game enough to want to play it, even if she was kinda baffled by my explanation. We had a long gripe and gossip session last night, which was fun. (Sample line from this conversation: "I think we need to downgrade from an animal to a tree and see if we can keep it alive.") Sounds like she's wanting to live here another year too, and since I realized I can't afford to live in any other city that has public transport, I guess I will too, barring disaster.

I don't think I've mentioned this before, but pretty much every day while I was on vacation, my parents were nagging me that AS SOON as I got back to Davis, I should call the university employment office and ask them about being interviewed. As in "call them by 11 a.m. AT THE LATEST on Monday morning! You HAVE to! It shows that you're interested! Your father and I called places we wanted to work at weekly/every other day until they hired us because we were so persistent and showed that we were interested!" For one of the jobs I applied for, they just stopped collecting applications as of Friday afternoon and were not going to start doing anything on them until Monday morning. I argued this point with them every time, and they still insisted. Finally late Saturday night, Mom said I didn't HAVE to call them then if I didn't want to.

Monday night she calls me and asks if I'd called yet. Then she got mad when I said I didn't and said she'd never said I didn't have to call them, "I said to use your best judgement." Um. Yeah. She then yelled at me to call them this morning by 9 a.m. Of course, knowing that I had a "deadline" to wake up by, I didn't actually get to sleep until around 4 a.m.

While inappropriately awake (I swear, any time I have something to wake up for lately, I'm not sleeping that night much, if at all), I got bored and decided to do a tarot card reading for how the job search would be going this week. (For those who do cards, I did a 7-card spread and got 2 Pentacles, 8 Wands, Knight of Swords, The Sun, 7 Cups reversed, 3 cups reversed, and 4 wands reversed.) As near as I could figure out, this indicated (a) disorganization is causing difficulty, and I'm handling more than one thing (true), (b) everything will take flight and and I will be making progress towards my goal, (c) there will be delays and apprehension, possibly conflicts and difficulty maintaining stamina/mental attitude (what a surprise), (d) good success and happiness, (e) I've made the choice I'm going to follow, and it's the right one for me and is starting to work, (f) take control and make new plants, reorganize excesses, and (g) congratulations are due, I should appreciate the little joys in life and be thankful for what I have (well, that's the mood I'm in now these days). I guess at least half of this is pretty accurate right off the bat. We'll see on the rest, I guess.

The phone rang at 9 a.m. this morning � for Hillary. She applied for a part-time receptionist job LAST NIGHT and got a call for a Thursday interview this morning! Damn! I'm so jealous. Happy for her, but shit, I'm the one who doesn't even have a job right now. I'm thinking of signing up to do inventory at a store all day Sunday for $50, but given how little I get in unemployment and how that would get deducted from what I'm getting in unemployment, that might not even be worth it. The store in question is one I've interviewed people at before, so I feel weird about that. "Hey, didn't you used to work at�" "Yeah, not any more, now I'm so broke I'm applying to do this." Ugh, the shame of it all.

When I finally called one employment office (for the full time temporary position), I found out that guess what- calling and stalking wouldn't do any good! They can't tell you anything about interviews other than it'll take them between 2-6 weeks to get to calling you if they're interested. Figures. I'm really not very interested in applying at non-university jobs (at least I can walk to work if I go there), and I haven't found anything recently that I'd want to apply for (that's in this town, that I'm qualified for), but I have to have SOMETHING to write on the unemployment forms to prove I looked for work. Sigh.

My big excitement for the day was buying hair dye (alas, my roots have come in, and my hair is a lot darker than I thought it was, and the red in my hair seems to have faded out).Along with nagging me about calling, Mom called to tell me my brand of hair dye, which I had not been able to find in the stores I'd been looking in, was on sale for $5 at Rite Aid. So I walked over there today, only to find that my color, or indeed, the entire redhaired section, was not there. I ended up buying a more expensive (but still $2 off with coupon and sale) similar haircolor. (Roots probably wouldn't look good at an interview, huh?) Hopefully if Hill gets bored she can dye it for me again, since I can't see the back of my head and all.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com