Chaos Attraction

My Most Responsible-Looking Ensemble

2002-01-10, 11:26 p.m.

Well, I didn't get the internship after all- they found someone with more indie knowledge/cred than I have. Which is fine, really, as it's not like I really needed the internship, and lord knows I have absolutely no clue as to indie ANYTHING in the world. I don't even know where you find out about that stuff. I'm just not cool. However, it was a reminder to me to NOT get all cocky, if you know what I mean. It reminded me of applying for an internship years ago (before I got the one at the paper), where I thought I'd totally nailed the job because the interview went so well, but it went to someone else instead. Ironically, said someone else, who I ended up working with for a few months later on, apparently did next to nothing while working there, whereas I got the paper job and had a lot more fun, so I guess it does all work out. Note to self: good interview does not equal employment, so don't count chickens about it. Okay, I didn't really think for sure I'd get it or something, but a good interview means nothing in the long run.

The phone rang. I woke up and looked over at the clock, which said 10:30. Huh, maybe I should answer that ... And it was a call from somebody at the UCD temp center to schedule a computer skills test for me! Woo hoo! (Finally, I know one application wasn't ignored.) They do them in the afternoons, so I figured I'd move on it today and schedule mine for 2 p.m. Not too early, not too late, and I could still be home to watch Remington Steele.

Of course, that meant that I had to find something to wear soon. Since I was only going in for a test, I figured it wasn't quite time for the heavy artillery Business Wear with blazers and the dreaded pantyhose yet, but I figured I should dress up. I decided to go with something that was more "me" than blazers and pantyhose- a long skirt with my big ol' boots so as to avoid the pantyhose issue, and some kind of (non-velvet, non-sparkly, non-sexy- that wiped out a fair chunk of the wardrobe) top. As my beloved Cher in Clueless would have put it, a "responsible-looking ensemble."

As Cher does in the movie right before her driver's test, I too rummaged through the closet several times in search of various items. I had intended to wear my new green buttondown shirt and black skirt with green flowers (yeah, I know) that I'd gotten for Christmas, but alas, I found a few wrinkles. Normally I don't give a damn if something's a bit wrinkled as long as it doesn't look like it's been through a war, but Mom had drummed into my head about the sin of wrinkles. And since I hate ironing (I burned myself on an iron once, and another time an iron flew out of my hand and burned someone else's carpet), I started rummaging through the closet again for something else not wrinkled, not Spandex-y, not pink� I found my new black skirt with red flowers on it, which was not wrinkled, then went searching for something to wear with it. I knew I have a red sweater that would go with it, but I couldn't find it, so I dug out my black shirt. I don't have anything black and buttondown, but I do have a shirt that looks like a buttondown, but with a zipper. Alas, it just somehow looked�too trendy for the job thing. I then dug out the new black blazer and put that on, but it looked way too stiff and NOT me. I tried both shirts on several times trying to pick one, then finally gave up and ironed the green outfit. Sheesh.

As it turned out, I don't think my outfit was exactly a big deal to worry about (though better safe than sorry, I think). The other girl in there was in regular clothes. While I waited around I heard someone else call in to apply, and the woman behind the desk was all "Yeah, some people left, so we're hiring, things are starting up again with the quarter�" Good signs.

They sat me down at a computer to take a computer skills test and then a typing test. The computer skills test was on Word and Excel. I saw it'd be Word and was all "well, piece of cake on THAT at least," but it wasn't so easy. I should mention at this point that sophomore year of college I took an independent study class on Word, Excel and programming. It wasn't the best class for me, really. Word was a cinch, but I do NOT get Excel, and the teacher wasn't much of a help (he's more of a "do it for you" kinda guy). It was like algebra to me. That code shit? Huh? But when it came to Word here, I had NO idea of some of the capabilities of this program, and I know damn well that we weren't taught most of that in class. As for Excel, I was lost. The lady there, however, was very very nice and made me feel good despite suckage, and she didn't say "We won't hire you because you have no knowledge." I was nervous about the typing test because I hadn't taken one since sophomore year of high school, and that class wasn't good either. We had to take tests where they blacked the screen out and you got a higher grade if you typed fast and had typos in every word instead of the other way around, so my typing is generally fast but error-prone. I feared having to do that again, plus the last time I'd taken a typing test, my speed was 28. However, this time, it came out 78. Woo hoo! Much better than expected!

She said they'd interview/hire me when they had a position open for me. Until then, I guess I wait some more. But good news, right?

Iwonder if they'd keep me on file if I got the other job, and then call me for stuff in June. Sounds plausible, right?

As for Hill's interview, it didn't sound like it went all that well. There are six people up for the position, and the guy didn't sound real enthusiastic about any of them- "I guess tomorrow I'll go around calling the best two's references." I think the hopes have gone down on that one. Then again, for all I know that means she'll get the job.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com