Chaos Attraction

A Dull, Random Assortment Entry

2002-01-15, 11:04 p.m.

I would have updated earlier, but not a hell of a lot has gone on, beyond my having Bad Reputation stuck in my head for days. That's such a sexy song to me, maybe because I tend towards guys who haven't been as angelic as I've been, and I know they've had more fun. The song gives me these interesting mental images, like I'm on Ally McBeal or something and the stud in question's singing to me and then comes out to join me in the crowd. Hm. Maybe I'm not completely numb inside quite yet...

And in an 180-degree segue, since the above paragraph has NOTHING to do with my real life... I got permission from Dad to use the credit card (I have one they pay off, which is for (a) school stuff (b) the occasional ticket home (c) emergencies that require a credit card. I refuse to get my own because the damn things are too tempting) to buy some books on learning Excel and whatnot, so I scampered off to the bookstore today to get some. I ended up with The Complete Idiot's Guide to Excel, Office 2000 For Dummies, Job Hunting For Dummies (man, I feel intelligent lately!) and the ubiquitous What Color Is Your Parachute? As well as ... um... the new Cynthia Heimel book, which I wasn't supposed to get, but dammit, I've been waiting for that to come out for years now and I adore her writing.

Let's hope I actually read the job stuff and not just skip it to read Cynthia.

Well, I have been reading the job hunting book, at least. I've decided to hold off on applying for stuff for a bit, at least till I've read it through and changed my resume around and stuff like that. I'd really prefer a UCD job compared to the office receptionist thingie I saw for downtown. I found one possible job I could apply for at UCD, but I suspect it's out of my range by the hefty salary (compared to what I used to make) that it pulls in. Oh well. JHFD has a whole chapter on temping, so I'll be reading that with interest.

On the Hillary front, she went to the doctor, got a blood test and was told to call back in two weeks. She is Not Thrilled about that, and they didn't do anything but say to pick up some Tylenol. But she was in a better mood today (despite not being able to go to the snow this weekend with the gang like intended) and we ended up hanging out and playing my new Disney Monopoly game. She completely kicked my ass, since she had the advantage from the getgo. Next time I should go first, dammit. I was also amused to see HER have a brain fart, for a change. I'm well known for doing dippy crap because I spaced out and forgot something in mid-action, but today it was her turn- she saw a message on the machine and thought it was for me, and I was like "Um, your box is on the left, mine's on the right." I felt vindicated a bit =)

I think I will stay in town this weekend, in the event she feels sick and the girls need help with something and all. Hopefully it will be fun.

Heard from Shawn the last couple of days in e-mail, and I just about died laughing reading the last one, which indicated it had been a bad day- busy and the cat peed in the bathtub (I said "Hey, at least he didn't pee all over a $60 papasan chair cushion like my ex-roommate's cats did"), and he said there better be a new episode of Buffy on tonight. Ironically, they showed (a) reruns, and (b) the most depressing death reruns.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com