Chaos Attraction

The Final Show

2022-01-30, 7:23 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Two Anniversaries? - 2022-02-04
Just A Suck Day - 2022-02-03
To Make Things Easier, Make Them Harder! - 2022-02-02
The Bunny Dance - 2022-02-01
The Suck-Uppiest Song Ever - 2022-01-31

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Sunday, last show (sigh): we got the DVD's.

Pre-show:
They were testing all the sound effect noises. Sabrina: "Did we just hit the Titanic?" Isaiah seeing me writing all this shit down: "Dear diary."
Steve on using the Bellagio as the background in one scene: "It's so funny because it's so stupid."
Isaiah sometimes does a headstand. Me: "Doesn't that hurt your head?" "Nah, I got Jewish head."

Scott has been telling me that Robert, Janene and Cameron have been considering coming to the last show, to which I have pretty much been all "yeah right, believe it when I see it." Sure 'nuff, none of them went. He did want to get them another DVD, but it was too late for that. Oh well. I dunno what to say there. I'd offer to loan them mine after I pass it to Dawn and Loretta, but since it's hard to even see Robert and I haven't seen Cameron since January 2020, who knows there. (I note that she just sent me a postcard saying she hopes we can actually see each other this year...)

Jean had her best friend with the broken arm and mentally handicapped daughter come to the show, but they only made it through act one.

Mic check:

Isaiah: "Bloom, this is great! I'm gonna remember my prop tonight," followed by singing "I'm A Little Teapot."

Jean commented on "another full house," then sang "Opening Night," but adjusting the lyrics to "it will flop and it will go, I guarantee it..." Also, "this is my last ad hoc mic check."

Arthur: "I would like to sing The Little Wooden Boy...I couldn't resist."

Andy sung "I Feel Pretty" with a German accent.

Jean: "I am going to miss this show."

Kimmie to Eddie: "I wouldn't give you someone else's mouthwash."

Tessa to Arie: "You're driving from Antelope? Ew."

Isaiah: "Hey, Jan, you decided to come to the show." Jan: "I've been here for the last 45 minutes," then explains that she's been training a new house manager. Isaiah: "Well, I got put in my place."

The orchestra played some Hamilton.

"Surprise, we're doing Evan Hansen." -Jean

"You're going to play all the parts tonight?" -Sabrina to Isaiah

"The things we do for our art." -Sabrina

Isaiah to Alexis: "Do you mind being a target?" Alexis: "No."

On graying hair: "I'm going to Just For Men It when I'm 60." -Isaiah "Do the Anderson Cooper, it seems to be in fashion." -Scott "That guy makes me consider not being straight." -Isaiah.

In the dressing room:

"We are going to ROCK cleaning these bathrooms." -Jean "We haven't done anything yet." -Elizabeth

"The house is open, stop tap dancing in your trench coat." -Jean

(After we're talking about getting the wrong food in restaurants and I said my parents never believed me that I got the wrong food/drinks) Jean: "You're going to be in therapy for the rest of your life." Me: "I AM in therapy for the rest of my life!"

"Five minutes, I should get dressed." -Sherilyn, who is always the last to get dressed.

"I want Michael's voice" (note: he gives a long spiel on the phone in his opening scene) "on my answering machine." -Jean, Other Jennifer also agrees, and said "Please call my husband who actually answers his voice mail."

Sabrina on Ulla: "She got what she wanted. A trip to Rio, a husband and a girlfriend."

"And there's my hiccup for the night." -Sherilyn

(Post-show: "Goodbye, snap crotch! Thank you for sharing this with me." -Jean. "Snap on, snap off." -Jennifer)

Backstage, Nate checked the David statue to see if David was un-circumcised, and Jean photographed this. "This is for your children."

Sherilyn said that Nate used to make jokes about having a left-handed redhead stepchild, then he had to quit doing that when one of his kids was born a left-handed redhead.

Nate shared "useless facts" about where "piss poor" and "pot to piss in" came from.

I apparently forgot to pick up my little old lady costume last night (I was distracted by Laurel) and then had a freakout when I didn't have the outfit hanging up. Someone found it, thank goodness.

Jean lost her check (we're supposed to have them stashed down our dresses/bras and then pull them out for Eddie to grab them at the end of "Along Came Bialy") again, as it fell down her dress and onto the middle of the stage. I ended up grabbing it on my way on with the walker and passing it to her when we were next to each other later. Smooth move, me.

Scott and I were acting out "NEVER PUT YOUR OWN MONEY IN THE SHOW!" backstage.

In the audience....

"It's a weird day. You never know what's going to happen on the final show." -Sabrina.

This was quite true, as: (a) one of Danny's friends came and was very enthusiastically loud and assumed to be day drunk. We were amused. Steve semi-seriously(?) asked Isaiah, Scott and Nate backstage to be backups if necessary when we were told about this, Isaiah was all "I got nothing to lose," and also suggested Elizabeth because "she cut a bitch in a bar." Sabrina said he "pre-gamed" and Jean was all "Who paid that guy on the left hand side to scream?' "Living his best life" was said. (b) Apparently some people walked out at intermission because of that guy, and A Little Talk Was Had With Him so he toned it down for the second act. Also (c) apparently some folks never heard of Mel Brooks or a joke and walked out at intermission because we were glorifying Hitler. Me: "Well, I guess it's a good thing they walked out before Act 2, then."

Also, someone brought their dog! The dog was mostly under the seat, but at one point it was on the owner's lap in the front row. Adorbs!

Much to my surprise, Mary and Paul from Sierra Storytelling came! I had forgotten I'd talked to her about the show, but they came with the relatives. That was VERY sweet. Scott even hung around and briefly introduced himself (surprise there). She asked what show was next and ah... definitely she won't be seeing that one :P I said nobody will!

After that was striking the set. Mostly I ended up taking stapled flowers off set pieces. Other Jennifer and I deflowered a trellis (I note that Kimmie the props master left halfway through the show today and "it's the first strike I've missed in 8 years") and uh...apparently we weren't supposed to do that. Oops. Oh well. Other than that, we recruited Sabrina to work on doing lettering for The Producers on the section of the wall we were all going to autograph. Other Jennifer has a huge set of colored Sharpies, almost all of which gave up the ghost on that wall despite the painting, sigh. Sabrina made various comments I wished I could have written down (I was holding the ladder for her) about what we do for our art when Steve was being snarky. I note that Steve actually signed our chunk of the wall and he said he almost never does that and has only signed elsewhere once before. Isaiah: "Scavenger hunt!"

I took some souvenirs: a program of "Funny Boy" and a checkee (that's how it's spelled in the script), grabbed my old lady picture from the cabinet and my photo off the bio wall. Ended up also grabbing Scott's of those last two, except those are some cheapass frames and I broke his cabinet picture frame--oh well. Passed that on to him and also to Jean when I went to the bio board, grabbed mine, found them and was all "want yours?"

Mom was texting me during the show "You might say to Scott, keep in touch and see what he says." Hahahah, he ended up saying "we'll keep in touch" on his own. I said "maybe we'll do another play together in 2023, 2024?" and he said we'll see. He did smile (wow, haven't seen that for years) upon hugging me goodbye, so there's that.

And...now I won't see him for awhile.


I went home, got drunk, and read this recommendation for a short movie, Who Am I This Time? (YouTube link here.) about a small town acting company where their lead guy Harry is really good onstage but can't even speak offstage. He and new girl Helene get interested in each other while doing Streetcar, but she figures out how to develop the relationship by playacting stage romances with each other.

"Harry and Helene find that they can pursue a relationship by reciting stage romances to each other, and the story ends with him proposing, in character, from a scene in Oscar Wilde's The Importance of Being Earnest." To quote Helene, "This week I've been pursued by Marc Antony, and romanced by Henry Higgins, loved by Henry the Fifth, and I was just proposed to by Ernest Worthing."

This,/a> is a really beautiful writeup of it, and on doing theater in general.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com