Chaos Attraction

Those Magic Changes

2002-02-20, 8:13 p.m.

As I was walking home from work today, I started thinking about the different changes that have happened in my life. It's kind of scary how it seems like around every year to two years or so, my life has been doing a complete turnaround. More like very scary, really. No wonder I always feel like I'm going through Saturn Return.

I originally had a VERY dull childhood. The first seventeen years or so pretty much went on as you'd expect without much in the way of major surprises or any kind of change beyond the predictable kind, changing schools or whatever. Then around when I hit 18, the phases began.

What happens to me is that when a phase starts, any to all of the following things in my life will undergo a drastic change. One or two things will suddenly throw me for a loop, and the rest follows. School, work, romance, friends or living situation are often majorly affected, throwing me for a complete loop. A bunch of completely unexpected things will happen to me in a short period of time, and thus a New Phase of my life begins and everything totally changes on me. Then a few years later, more and different chaos erupts.

Here's the phases of my life so far:

Phase 1: April 96-September 97-- In Which I Become A Babe Or Something. Drastic Sparking Change Event: I ask a guy out for the first time. He accepts.

During this phase I started dating. The timing sucked because he was graduating that year and thus our relationship was off and on while he was in school/working too hard/whatever. I started being REALLY sick of school. The whole college stressout era.

Phase 2: October 97-November 98-Commencing The College Years. Drastic Sparking Change Event: Moving here for college.

The boy I was dating got sick of me, so that ended. I move to a new town for the first time. College rocks. I make a whole crowd of new friends and become semi-popular. I date random guys once per quarter. My best friend marries an abuser, and we all freak out about that for awhile.

Phase 3: November 98-October 99-The Ex Era. Drastic Sparking Change Event: Saying yes to meeting the ex for the first time.

I started dating the ex, made friends with his wild crowd of friends, became more popular, our crowds mingled, we did the poly lifestyle. Mom and Dad get progressively more pissy with me. I start doing stuff against their will and start thinking I'd better get a job in case they cut me off.

Phase 4: October 99-November 01-The Post-Ex Era. Drastic Sparking Change Events: Ex breaks up with me, I land a job.

The ex breaks up with me. I start progressively losing friends for various reasons. Ex and I attempt friendship, but his depression fucks it up bad and he stops speaking to me. I land a job at the newspaper and am blissfully happy workwise for two years. I start hating school with a passion and desperately want to get out. I finally graduate.

Phase 5: December 01-who knows (September 03?)-The New Boyfriend Era. Drastic Sparking Change Event: Getting laid off.

Can you believe all the changes that have gone on since November 30 for me? I can't.

What's funny now is that for the first time, I can kinda see where Phase 6 is going to go. I know I'll probably have to move in September 2003, as Hill will be moving to Sacramento for her credential and around then I presume the boy and I will have to make same town living arrangements at least. He has to stay in Modesto for at least another year before he could transfer to another, so it'll be a wait. And from there, well� we'll see, I guess.

Honestly, I wonder if someone put the "interesting times" curse on me as a birthday present or something years ago�


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com