Chaos Attraction

A Random Assortment of Whatever

2002-03-05, 8:15 p.m.

Went back to work Monday, and no, I did NOT get in trouble for all my sick days. All I got was "Hey, welcome back." (Though now the coworker I got it from is home sick. Ah, the irony.) Dad, however, decided to get into the act by e-mailing me that in all his years of working, he'd taken three sick days, Mom has NEVER taken one in all her born days (except for when YOU'RE sick, Dad), I'm VERY lucky to have a job at all these days (like I don't know that!?), that I will lose my job for being sick, blah blah blah. I so wanted to kill him after reading that.

Man, whoever thought that 8 hours of work was a reasonable thing? Because it sure sucks to wake up tired and THEN have to go to work all day. Fortunately I've been feeling more awake as the day goes on. I've been timing myself to see how fast I'm getting things done, and I'm managing to complete a record from scratch about every 20 minutes. That'll blow some minds when that gets out. I am so the speedy typing girl, AND with few errors. Damn. I'm finally feeling trained on this job.

Mom actually called me for a SHORT time Monday to check on how I was feeling. She was polite and nice. Who knew?

Scott and Demma's car got fixed, and apparently they decided to kidnap Dave. Another one of those swinging nights that I wish I was at instead of here in Davis. I got invited to go to this riverboat cruise vampire game in three weeks or so that they're all going to. I heard "riverboat cruise" (I LOVE those- as a child my parents stayed at this resort a few times that had a riverboat cruise going around the lake every night and I'd be on there for hours enjoying the view and the night) and immediately said yes, but the gaming aspect is now making me nervous. This is gonna need a bit more explanation, but there's kinda two variants of the vampire game in existence: the Camarilla game I've been to, which is all about hiding the existence of vampires from the real world, and the Sabbat, which is another group of (even more evil) vampires who could care less about the hiding from humans, they're just food anyway. This riverboat thing is a Sabbat game, which sounds kinda scary in itself, AND there's NO being out of character at any time. The last bit I really don't like too much, especially being the clueless git that I am about these things and needing to ask all the time what the hell is going on. But I already said yes, so um, I guess I'm stuck now. In other random vampire news (and I can't believe I am updating about this stuff still), some of the family of vampires came back in when they weren't supposed to last night and nearly got killed and were general pains in the ass. Lovely.

Now Dave is playing The Sims at their place, and before his phone started to keep cutting me off, he was going on in great detail about the pimp palace he's living in (at least one large stereo in EVERY room of the house, heart shaped bathtub, pool table in the bedroom). This is amusing, but kinda hard to participate in while on the phone, you know?

I heard from Christine in e-mail today, and well, she's not doing too good. (Prognosis 50/50, cancer continues to spread/not be all grabbed at once.) Eeek.

I also heard from an ex-coworker, who told me that one of my favorite people there, a snarky reporter guy, quit to go into teaching. While he'd seemed pretty fed up with reporting in general for a while, I gotta admit to being surprised that the idea of yelling at a bunch of kids would be more entertaining than waiting around to hear back from the mayor yet again. (Okay, maybe I gotta concede that one.) The real shocker here is that they are not hiring a replacement for him, and the girl they hired after me turns out not to have been full time after all, but will be full time now. Man, the stories I hear are just getting sad. Maybe there's two full-time reporters left in the place by now. How on earth are they covering anything any more? Maybe it's a good thing I got out when I did.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com