Chaos Attraction

Money Crap

2002-03-26, 8:04 p.m.

Gawd, I hate getting mail now. Here's what I've gotten in the last few days:

(a) Yet another phone bill. I JUST paid off the last one they sent me, and yet here's another.

(b) Health insurance bill, which is literally double what I've been told REPEATEDLY it's supposed to be this month. I called Mom about it, and she threw a fit and said that it had already been paid off. I may have to go call them about this. Joy. I really hate when they send out notices like that two weeks before the bill is actually due (they dated it March 17, I received it on the 22nd or so).

(c) Jury duty notice for mid-April. No, I can't get out of it. I wouldn't really care too much if this had been sent to me while I was out of work (actually, getting paid the $15/day would be a good thing), but did they have to send it NOW while I can still get paid for real work? Will they let you out of jury duty if you say you're working a temp job and can they call you back later? My boss was nice about it and my coworkers were commiserating with me, but I did get warned that it is VERY hard to get out of it in this county. Which sucks ass. I didn't want to register to vote in this county in the first place, I only did it so I could get the stuff for the presidential election in time. I might as well have not bothered, huh? Anyone know how likely they'd be to put a 23-year-old in a jury box? I'd figure I'd be an undesireable, given my age...

Then there's the transport issue- the bus line that supposedly goes from school to the courthouse apparently leaves from here at 5 p.m. or so, and NO OTHER TIME. Yeah, THAT's a big help. So I'd have to do some complicated transferring. Good thing I don't have to actually be there till 1 in the afternoon... of course, if I end up stuck in a trial I may be totally fucked.

Okay, maybe moving out of this county is a good idea after all.

Adding to the fun money discussion, after this weekend's agonies with Amtrak travel, I'm thinking that I really do need to cave in and get a cell phone, at least for emergencies or should I get deserted by a bus or attacked by crazies or need to call a cab or to do everyone's "yes, I'm okay, I got home safely, I ate'nt dead*" phone calls a bit ahead of time.

(* Terry Pratchett reference)

I have heard rumors about these prepaid phones before. Something like, you just buy a certain number of minutes and use them up and then you can get around to buying more minutes whenever you can and you don't have to deal with paying a damn bill once a month. This sounded damn good to me, so I went around looking online last night for Verizon (the only one of these I've heard of) instead of going to bed because I was so wired after being freaked out of my mind for 45 minutes.

Only surprise, Verizon's cheapest phone "plan" (for lack of a better word) is $80. You have to buy a phone minute card every 30-60 days (depending on how much you bought, of course), and if you don't, bye bye phone. And no, minutes don't carry over past the 30/60 days. Other phone systems I was checking out appear to be only slightly different from that. Geez. I just want a phone for short little calls and this is the best I can find?! Sounds like I end up with a regular "bill" to pay just the same. Crapola. I may just have to go without until (assuming this happens) I find another job.

Oh yeah, and did I mention that I walked off with Dave's wallet? At some point on Monday afternoon he said "Hey babe, put my wallet in your backpack, will you?" and like a schmuck I went and did it and completely forgot about it. Fortunately he doesn't really need anything in it until next week, but this is still gonna be a problem. I can't get to the off-campus post offices during working hours to mail it, and the campus post office is closed this week. Gah. I'm mailing him his ID stuff tomorrow, with a tacky lipstick-print love note attached. Yes, I'm goofy.

I have a looooong list of stuff I have to do in the next few days, and I've got only a few hours to get things done in per day, thanks to work and various phone calling. Crap.

Right now I'm obviously feeling stressed and cranky. I couldn't sleep last night since I'd been so wound up for 45 minutes thinking I'd been abandoned in Sacramento for the night, and of course what am I this afternoon? And I can't stop thinking about the whole moving problem. Didn't help either that I started looking around the MATH+1 forum, specifically the wedding thread, and really just couldn't get it out of my head. Not to mention that the idea of wedding planning scares me so much I want to go hide under the bed and whimper. Like Jessamyn, I'm not a wedding person, and pretty much for those reasons (though I certainly am into dress shopping). I am seriously considering eloping, except Mom would probably kill me.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com