Chaos Attraction

Stir Crazy

2002-03-29, 9:46 p.m.

It's a Friday before a holiday. Y'all know what that means. I sit here, it's 3:30 p.m., and while I don't really mind doing my work per se, it is a GORGEOUS and warm day out, and I'm wasting it being inside. Of course the irony of this is that if I wasn't at work I'd probably be sitting inside at my computer just like I am now. But at least I'd have the screen door open and actual sunlight streaming in. Hearing people leave early for the holiday doesn't help much either. I wish I could, but given the pending unemployment (even though it looks like that'll be at least in May, not April! Yay!), I need all the 8 hour paychecks I can get. They pay on a really weird percentage of how many hours in a full work month that you worked, so the more hours absent, the less you get. (Of course, even at nearly full pay I still get like 89% or something. The hell?) I will enjoy getting out of here and going to the train station and basking in the sunlight from the train windows. I'll even be able to see OUTSIDE for a change!

It is definitely weird to know I'll be going out of town and NOT seeing Dave this weekend. I already want to go call him, or at least leave a mushy message on his phone or something before I leave. Last night's phone conversations (all three of them, since for various reasons he or I had to call each other back a few times) were too damn short. I'll try to restrain myself, since I'll talk to him late tonight anyway and find out about the future plans. I hope he did get some days off in a row, but I can't say I'll be exactly surprised if he doesn't after all. He's the #1 guy they call when someone bails out for whatever reason or things get busy, so... now you know why I go there all the time. I gotta watch getting my hopes too high here, knowing how it all works.

I hope it goes well with the parents. We're going to a favorite restaurant of mine that's near a favorite bookstore of mine when I get off the train, so yay to that (plus fends off any potential fighting upon arrival if we're in public). I'd love it if we didn't end up in a fight over the weekend, but that's highly unlikely, isn't it? I guess I'll have to go kiss up and make sure to spend time with relatives, or at least appear to- can I help it if my cousins all have homework on weekends these days? I'll talk to people if they want to talk to me, but when they're all busy, geez.

I want oooooooooooooooooooooooooout! It's really hard to keep on working the later things go.

I went outside for my break at 4 p.m. and WOW, it is wonderful out there. People were lounging all over the place by the river. I actually laid down on the grass and read for a few minutes, and I so did NOT want to get up again. Total basking. Warm but not too warm. Going back inside sucked, especially since it felt all air-conditiony cold.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com