Chaos Attraction

Hunchback of Notre Dame

2022-04-02, 1:58 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
The Temps Are Gone - 2022-04-07
Praise Satan - 2022-04-06
Peron's Latest Whore - 2022-04-05
Finish On Cake - 2022-04-04
The Lost City - 2022-04-03

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I finished my temperature cross stitch through March.

I signed up for a ridiculously cheap astrology class--five mornings on Saturday at 8 a.m. with Michael Lutin, which thankfully gets recorded and sent to you later if you miss it. I actually slept over 8 hours and was up for it, go figure. I felt like the first class was a lot of throat-clearing* but he did say a few things here and there. I guess the meatier stuff comes later?

* if I'm taking a class to get information out of it and I don't find myself actually writing down concrete information, it feels like they're just doing a lot of introduction and not much actual material. I call that "throat-clearing."

Then I drove to Walnut Creek to meet Jackie for lunch at Broderick. I liked it better than the Yacht Club and also frankly, their fries were great and I did not get any kind of uh, stomach trouble at this one on the way home. Huzzah. I also got a "voodoo cookie" ice cream sandwich and then Jackie and I bummed around town a bit--she bought some chocolate (it cracks me up since she used to claim to not like it!) and found a Thai place that not only does the mango sticky rice she was wanting, BUT ALSO SERVES MEE KROB. She gave me half the stash of it.

She also got Mom and I gift baskets, made me cupcakes and homemade ice cream (plus a unicorn ice cream she found at Safeway) and a giant stuffed Baby Yoda. Happy birthday to me! It was a good time.

I am exhausted. It was a sloooooooow slog on I-80 going all the way back home, gawd. Jackie sent me a pic of a license plate she saw going home--"HOE TRAP." I saw "LUVSXEE" on the way back myself.

After that, we got to work on "A Night With Dana Hall," Shiny Unicorns' first playwright featuring night. Dana showed two monologs, a horror play and a humor play (clearly she's a Halloween girl) and we had some talk about her process and whatnot. I think it went really well and I'm happy with how that came out.

DMTC came out with the schedule for the week that would be the "first week" of Winters tech week. They aren't having rehearsal on that Wednesday due to a board meeting, so that's convenient for us and gives Linda the one night she asked for (according to Scott). I could go late to DMTC one night but that would only give me a half hour in Winters, so who knows there. I think he's in it the whole time but could leave early the other night. We'll see. I forwarded on the info to everyone on his and my behalf, we'll see how it goes.


Hunchback of Notre Dame at Woodland:

Freaking amazing production, I must say:

I'm not sure why they had Eddie (as Quasimodo) literally put on the hunchback outfit at the start of the show--then he takes it off again to deliver an epilogue at the end--but it was interesting.

It took me a bit to figure out that the people Quasimodo was talking to in the church were gargoyles and they only seem like real people/friends to him. Likewise, Quasimodo in his head space speaks/sings eloquently, whereas in real life he's kinda deaf from the bells and doesn't say as much. I was all "ohhhhhhh" when I figured this out.

Chekhov's Molten Lava, hahahah. They have imaginary molten pouring off the stage.

The entire audience laughed when Frollo was all "you don't want to hurt me!" and the gargoyles were all "Yes, you do!"

GREAT staging of Quaismodo pitching Frollo off the building. They have this guy who's probably like 6'5 or something as Frollo, Eddie's fairly short and obviously posing as shorter to boot, but they have him grab around the knees and then everyone else picks Frollo up from behind and he's carried out backwards Christ-style. INTERESTING.

Very well done show. Of course the people I know did well at it :)

I got there around 7:05, figuring I was way early if they had all gone to Applebee's and I was just going to mill about outside. But hell, Scott was there before me (parked in the same place as last time, even) and people were gathering. We had like, a full section at this theater. I did get to sit by him and lean on him-ish for parts of it, though he (of course) moved away after awhile, sigh. Did talk to him at intermission and whatnot. Now he wants to audition at Woodland and I'm all "dammit, I'm not good enough to get in if you do!"

DMTC people I knew there: Steve, Jan, Nate/Sherlyn and kids, Jonathan, Paul/Carlos, Katrina/Cody, Isaiah (who sat on the other side of me and called it a "manwich"), Jean, Dannette/Arthur, Virginia/John...some people I didn't know. I think it's great that they do a field trip.

Everyone hangs around outside to say hi to people after the show ends, so there was a lot of hugging and chatting. Erik was around, so I saw him (even hugged him randomly and what the heck was that about?!). Eventually got to everyone on my end, hah hah. I'm amused that the original three in Camelot--Joe, Jory, and the original Lancelot who dropped out over masks--were in this one.

E(??)n was also there and came up to Scott and had a super amusing conversation. I will attempt to approximate re-creating it:

E to Scott: "So it turns out that my boss is like, best buddies with you?" Turns out his boss is Rodney from Winters. I think Scott asked how this came about, and I guess it was something like turns out they both know him, and E said something like, "His name is Scott mumblemumblemumble?"* and Rodney was all, "Oh yeah, that's him."

*I note that Scott has a long German name that he makes fun of a lot--several times tonight, even, while doing a German accent. Then the conversation morphed into how Woodland is doing In The Heights next season and E could do it but we can't, what with being white and all "and the long German last name."

Me: "What does Rodney do for a day job?"
E: "Being a crazy old man.

Jan supposedly wanted to go to Denny's afterwards. I talk to Scott about it, he says he's willing to hang out if not eat, I drive over there after him and NOBODY is there, I text him and apparently Jan called to tell him (but not me?!) they were all going to Applebee's, and by the time I got THERE it was too crowded and they were all going home. Grrr, argh.

Did tell Scott that I did the emailing re: first tech week schedule, so that's taken care of.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com