Chaos Attraction

Blackout

2002-04-08, 9:09 p.m.

Definitely weird this morning having a guy in my room while I was getting ready for work. There's something that hasn't happened in years. Definitely weird that I was the one getting ready to go to work while he was lounging around in bed. I spent the morning wondering what he was up to and if he'd found anything on the computer or something.

Remember how I'm always griping that I have nothing to say about my day on the weekends? Of course you do, that's nearly every entry lately.

Well, guess what. Something happened.

I'd just done lunch with Dave and had come back into the office and was merrily filing away when... the power went out. All over campus. Inwardly I was immediately doing the happy dance and hoping that this would mean we could go home. Then I heard people saying "it'll be back on in 20 minutes" and well, guess not.

The boss's boss was standing around in the hall, and he told two of us in my section that we might as well go take a break for 20 minutes. Fine by me, so I wandered up to the front desk- and saw Dave about to walk out of the building. I ran out and talked to him for a few minutes, then we decided to go outside for a bit- he was going around taking pictures of all the odd sculptures on campus. Another person in my section was standing around, and I told him what I'd heard from BB about the 20 minutes.

After a few pictures were taken, we wandered back into the building- only to find that my boss was looking for everybody. According to her, "this is not a work break," and we were to go in and find anything to do not involving a computer, dark or not. She spent even longer looking for the coworker I'd told about the break- apparently he'd gone to lie down outside or something. (I suspect nearly all of us in our section wanted to go home, except for my coworker who'd been babysitting her kids and had a relative over during spring break- she wanted to be doing anything but!) Nobody else but my section had to work- everyone else just stood around and gossiped, including the bigwigs. Gah. I know, I know, we shouldn't get a break just because there's no power off when there is something that can be done... but at the time I just wanted to leave, especially given what I could have been doing instead of sitting in at work. Of course, the power was back on within an hour, and I'm still here. Sigh.

This is reminding me of in high school when the power went out in my half of the town all morning, and right before they were going to give up trying to teach in the dark and send us all home, the power went back on. I swear, NOTHING (neither rain nor sleet nor snow nor earthquake nor hurricane nor terrorist attack) would be considered severe enough to cancel a day's education at a California school. The only times I've ever gotten days off were back at the newspaper when the power blew out one afternoon. That certainly won't be an issue again.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com