Chaos Attraction

Entertaining Myself

2002-04-13, 9:08 p.m.

I ended up on the phone with Dave about three different times last night. The first time was while he was waiting to be picked up (the gang was supposed to be going out to do karaoke), and he told me about how in one day customers had given him a free CD, a possible connection for free NASCAR tickets and a possible connection for a rental house. (Woo hoo on the last one, I say.) I was impressed. By the second phone call, the gang had opted to go stalk Pauly Shore, who was supposed to be in town, and were generally acting kinda dippy as far as I could tell through the phone. Dave was just waiting around for a ride home. Here�s how he got off the phone that time: "They�re about to do something stupid now, so I�d better get off the phone in case we have to run." Then someone yelled "We�ll have him call you if he gets arrested!" I�m afraid to ask. As it turned out, Pauly had been in town LAST week. Eventually, Dave got fed up with people acting like idiots and decided to walk home, which is when he called me again for company.

I mentioned the possible job rumor thing and he said he�d be willing to move to Davis or Sacramento- he wants out of town. Oh, phew. I wasn�t exactly wanting to move there, especially after checking out the slummy area last time I was there. We shall see, I guess. Oh, and apparently he realized that seeing each other only once or twice a month might not be the best idea. It�s been a few days, and he�s already thrown that I�m not there on a weekend. Join the club- it�s very strange to be here on a Saturday. I haven�t done that since the day before I met him.

Me and my big mouth sometimes. I made a comment along the lines of "Every time I walk into my room, I do a double take. What are these shelves doing here? Where�s my desk?" (I�m still trying to find stuff. Ironically, I did find the jury notice today, in a plastic bag with computer equipment that was kinda stashed under the bed.), and that started him off on the whole Jen�s a slob thing again. ("It took TWELVE HOURS to clean that room.") Not that this is news to anybody, but I am NOT as bad as he seems to think I am. Then again, I�ve seen plenty of places worse than mine (oh, he�s gonna die when he sees my parents� house), and as far as I can tell the only one he�s seen that was worse was his friend down south�s, where he actually did find dead animals in the room! He did say that nothing, including the room, was going to scare him off. Which was reassuring until he said, "I did have to keep repeating to myself �I love her, I love her, I love her...'" presumably through gritted teeth. I�m still wondering what�ll happen when it comes down to cooking and/or driving lessons, though... that�s me at my worst. If he survives those, I�ll really believe it.

I have to say that I wasn�t exactly thrilled to hear that he�d been telling the guys at work all about this, and that the guys thought I should have given him my Jornada outright for doing that cleaning job. Sometimes it�s like "Must you talk about that? Or flash that picture you took of me when I was in bed and didn�t know you were going to take a picture?" (I�m under the covers, but you can tell I don�t have a top on. He did the Candid Camera thing again. I think he�s got that one in his wallet, with a caption of "What are you doing with that camera?" on the back.) Of course, by the time I hear about these things it�s a bit late to stop him.

In other news, I may have found a job for Hill- I saw one advertised in the school newspaper and she�s getting an interview for next week. I hope she gets it. Her current job seems to be driving her bats by the day. Nobody told her if she was supposed to work this morning or not, and she had nobody to contact about it, so she assumed she was off. We get an obnoxious phone call at 8:30 from some dingbat wanting to know where Hill is because she�s supposed to work today, then she doesn�t believe me when I say that as far as Hill knew she wasn�t working.

I entertained myself rather well today- picked up the room more and watched old Buffy episodes that I never got to see because I'd been er, distracted. I liked Hell's Bells and got incredibly sad for poor loving Anya. Those parts about marrying her best friend and "I really get it now" about love just made me want to cry. The poor girl. Poor fearful-of-beating-her Xander, too. We got to see her on the brink of fulfillment... and now it's all gonna go to hell again. Damn. What a waste. As for Normal Again, I just pretty much hated the episode. Ugh, ugh, ugh, didn't want to watch Buffy try to kill her friends and go nuts, didn't like the "maybe the series doesn't exist" thing, too artsy, it sucked.

I also left home for awhile- hit the bead store and made two necklaces. A gorgeous gold/silver/bronze Celtic-themed one and a multicolored choker that's funky to look at, but I don't think I'm as into it as the people in the store were. Maybe I'll sell it? I kept seeing jewelry for sale in stores today around here. I doubt they'd take an extra person on, but who knows... I also went looking for clothes and found this black velvet top that wraps around and has a big tail at the back. Very elegant, though I don't know what I'd wear it with, and I can only picture wearing it to a vampire game (which I certainly won't be going to again for ages- the old game's still not on and the new game is only on Sunday nights).

Dave's been calling me off and on for short periods of time all day. He's off with the gang again, and supposedly they're doing karaoke again. I'm wondering when he'll get fed up and take off. He told me he was supposed to get home around 10, I was all "Talk to you around 11!" I miss him. After the shopping fun of the day, it's bloody dull here. Hill seems to be online or otherwise crashed in her room after we watched What's Love Got To Do With It? Anyone else see that and spend the whole movie alternately thinking "Ike's a total dick," or "Hey, nice singing?"


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com