Chaos Attraction

Oops, I'm Not A Lefty

2002-05-05, 5:23 p.m.

On Friday night we went out to dinner with Teri and Ashley and a few other friends of herse, and lord, were we obnoxious. Seriously, I think everyone inside wanted to kill us, and I admire the waitress's restraint when they kept begging her for her bowtie. We were loud, and dare I say it, Dave was particularly obstreperous. After awhile I felt like crawling under the table, except his head was in my way. (Yes, you read that right.) Hyper people!

I'm now more worried/ticked about Dave's job than ever. He got sick off exhaust fumes at work- I mean, repeated barfing sick- and went home early at lunch Friday. One chick upon hearing this gasped and said "Don't go home, or you'll get fired!" Never mind that he'd been running to the bathroom and back for four hours, never mind that the three seconds-in-command (for lack of better terminology) saw this. And his three-month review is Monday. Between him going home sick (they do NOT want you to stay home sick, no matter what's wrong) and the other stuff I've mentioned from time to time in here that isn't really a big deal to anyone but the boss, well, I'm worried. 'Course, if they're this shorthanded, it'd be stupid to can him now. Dave says the head guy has no real reason to do so and if he gets canned he's suing. If not, he's going to look into transferring to Sacramento. (Good!)

Oh yeah, and he's got Tuesday and Wednesday off! He didn't even ask for it, the boss just gave it to him! Though apparently boss did gripe that he shouldn't give him two days off in a row because he always disappears. I figured that was why they normally won't do it much. Gah.

Saturday night we and Teri and her friends from the other night went to "extreme bowling," which is when they blast hard rock and turn down the lights and light up the lanes and generally party down. Dave loved it, he kept singing along and dancing around in the lanes before he'd bowl. He's a lot better at it than he's claimed to be.

I hadn't bowled in 8 years. I used to be pretty good at it- I was in a league and won 10 trophies (then again, I didn't have a whole lot of competition). Then I turned 16 and started to really suck- couldn't even break 100 any more. At that point, I quit.

Lord, how I missed having my own ball there. Unlike my old alley hangout where they had a lot of kid bowlers, this alley had a lot of heavy balls. I actually fell down after my first shot with the lightest ball I'd found. (So much for Dad griping at me years ago to get a heavier ball.) So Dave's all "Use Ashley's, it's pretty light." And it was the right weight. However, somehow I didn't notice that Ashley is a lefty (and I'm not). I did pretty well at the start, a few strikes/spares, but my fingers started to hurt. I found another ball, but the damage had already been done and it hurt to bowl. I got a 39 or so on the second round because I kept dropping it in pain. Today, my middle finger has recovered, but the ring is swollen, painful, and appears to be a bit out of joint. (Though maybe that's my imagination.) I can move it fine, but it hurts to touch. My wrist is decidedly not happy with me either. Gotta be careful at work tomorrow.

Dave had today off (yay!). He'd told me that if I woke up first instead of him, to go see him in his room. I still woke up early (again- I'm doing this even on non-work days), so I got dressed and went into his room. After the rest of them had gotten up, Dave left the room for some reason and got griped at by his grandma- "where's your friend?" Dave explained, but according to him she gave him dirty looks. (They just don't get along, really.) I about died hearing that. Fortunately she didn't give me dirty looks, and later asked me to look something up for her on the computer.

We pretty much just laid around all day, or Dave played Final Fantasy X- that game is cool looking- or we assembled the R2D2 I got him. (He loves it, btw.) I also passed the novel of Attack of the Clones on to him, and his mom immediately borrowed it.

We actually ended up going to the vampire game for an hour before I had to leave. It was dull as shit, really, just hanging around. We were playing new characters- he's a Brit drummer, I'm a dingy singer- but most people there just seemed to be hanging out. Uh, whatever. I don't know if we can play there again though (not that I'll be in town again for a month!)- apparently the org that runs the game is forbidding non-registered players from coming. Dave has tried to register himself and a bunch of others online before, but the org promptly lost his info and money. I don't know if he's going to try a gain or not- their website is bad.

I wrote Dave a list on the little computer about what wedding dates to consider. He said "it all looks good to me, as far as I'm concerned the wedding is just a formality." Aww. Then he said that we have to tell my parents soon, because he doesn't like hiding it. (I don't either, obviously, since I blabbed it on the Internet and all.) I said we really do have to wait until they've met, because Mom will wig if she hears that I'm engaged and she hasn't met him. I saw what she was like when I was dating the ex (who had some issues that would make a mom uncomfortable). She was going nuts. I didn't want to introduce them, but she demanded it. And she did calm down afterwards.

Anyway, he's insisting that they meet ASAP. We can't do it this week because the parents are on vacation, but if he gets two days off in a row again at some point this month, I will ask her to come up.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com