Chaos Attraction

Too Many Surprises

2002-05-07, 7:23 p.m.

Around 6 p.m. last night, Scott and Demma showed up at my place. She's...surprisingly perky, Scott whispers that they're back together. Apparently I didn't need to feel guilty about not calling because they were on a camping trip. (I told them I was having mommy issues, and they guessed what kind right off the bat.) She mentioned feeling suicidal (kinda vagued it up), which she claimed was due to their temporary roommate Betty. I don't know how Betty ended up staying there, exactly, but she apparently wants to live there for good and not bother to pay the rent like she agreed to. She's also got er, other issues going on that Scott's not thrilled about, plus she's bipolar and not taking meds (hence what set Demma off). And a bunch of other folks are being pains too.

Actually, things went pretty well. Demma was a bit cranky towards the end, but not really a problem or anything. Scott said something to me outside about if things had really been over with them he would have come to see me to discuss things and that he doesn't think he's good enough for me so he gave me Dave. Um, okay.

He did get on me a bit for not knowing where we're going to end up living yet. He said that Dave would do whatever I wanted, so what did I want? I said I was leaning more towards staying around here, but didn't really know yet.

We went out for pizza and did a little window-shopping, then went home and played games. Dave called around 9 to say that he'd just left Stockton. Since his train was supposed to leave around 7:30, this was quite late, but not exactly surprising to have happen. He said he thought it'd be another hour. So I'm a little bummed, but that's the train system for ya, and we go back to gameplaying. Scott wouldn't let me tell him they were here, though, because he wanted to surprise him.

Around 9:30 he calls to say "the driver was a psychopath" and drove so fast that he's already leaving Sacramento. He says it'll take a half hour, but the traffic's not that bad there at night so I know it's more like fifteen minutes. I drag S&D out of there and we drive to the station and sit around.

About ten minutes later, they get a call. And it's Dave. Where is he, you ask? AT MY APARTMENT. Apparently he was trying to surprise me again and showed up about five minutes after we'd left. I'm all "Dude, I would have been waiting at the station and freaking out! I am so never going to meet you there again! I'm just gonna sit here and wait for you to come to me already."

We didn't do a whole lot after that- got some food, had mudslides, watched a little TV, yada yada. Dave did mention to me that he's more worried about the living situation thing and who goes to who- I said I don't know yet, it depends on my work situation. If I get a job with a lot of pay here, it may just work better to have him transfer. If I don't, I might as well go there. Who knows? He said he wouldn't worry about that one too much until later then.

Oh yeah, and the boss forgot to do the paperwork for his review today. But since he didn't get canned today, he's now a permanent employee anyway! Woo hoo!

He was telling me about some little girl on the train who was obviously on her very first train ride and saying "All aboard!" and got to make an announcement and stuff like that. He thought she was very cute and said "I want one!" I had a bizarre flashback to thinking that while seeing Monsters Inc., the thought that got me in all this trouble.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com