Chaos Attraction

Hippie Weekend, Day 2: Pretty Teenage Princess Woman

2002-05-11, 8:55 p.m.

Well, today's shopping went better, or at least I got a whole lot of fairly cheap stuff. One dichroic pendant to put into a necklace I'm trying to make (but later decided it didn't match too well). I DID find a toe ring that fit me because it's wire and I can bend it to fit! Woo hoo! Nyah! I found a lovely teal-colored quartz heart that I had made into a pendant, and bought two hair things. One's a clip that's a wire butterfly that locks into my hair, another is two sticks held together at the top with pretty stones on it. And I got the boy his ring! I actually got a better quality ring that cost more for a cheaper price, and he said we could bring it back if we needed to. Hooray!

I went to this healing workshop for an hour and a half, and it was really good. I was impressed by this teacher and what she said. Too bad she's in Berkeley. Anyway, she said for healing someone else to look at a picture of them and imagine giving them something full of energy. If they're there in person, rub your hands together, touch them lightly, and send them love. I think I can manage that =)

I really have to learn to NOT wander around the non-booth areas of this festival by myself. I was standing around watching dancing when this guy got into a conversation with me. I think he was a tourist, as he was asking if this town is normally like this (hell no), he has hippie parents and knows someone in a lab here, blah blah, entertaining enough conversation, I guess. When he started asking where was good to eat around here, I suddenly had flashbacks to the last time I got asked out here with that line (worst date of my life), and I said I had to go and left. Learned my lesson on THAT one.

Hill is having a Mother's Day lunch for her mom tomorrow and then taking her around WEF. Since I'm essentially doing the same with my parents, she asked if they could make it up here for lunch too. I left a message on the home phone for her to call me about that for tomorrow.

I TRIED to bake cookies for the occasion, but fucked them up royally. I say "royally" because while they were baking I was watching Princess Diaries before I wrapped it for Mom. I looked in after 10 minutes and they didn't seem done yet (the dough had been rather smooth instead of clumpy- the heat affecting it?), so I waited a few more and went back to watching the movie. A few minutes later, charbroil. Naturally, Hill laughed her ass off at me and said "I knew you would do that." It's my first time charbroiling cookies, actually, but I still feel pathetic. Oh well, at least the omelets I made later didn't go bad. I can manage to not screw ONE thing up. Between the cookies and the necklace I'm making- I'm having major, major clasp trouble- I sure do feel inadequate again.

As for the Princess Diaries, I WAY like the book better than the movie. The book is funny and off-kilter and not too stereotypical at all. I mean, when the girl becomes the princess because she's the only illegitimate progeny of the prince, who spent too much time diddling around instead of marrying and then got testicular cancer, you know it's gonna have some kookiness.

Alas, the movie is literally Pretty Teenage Princess Woman. Same director, still has Hector Elizondo and um, creepy kinda bald guy whose name I don't know who played the sleaze in PW and the hairdresser in this one in it, there's the Dramatic Revealing (honestly, I really wish they hadn't made her out to be the ugliest thing alive with glasses on. It offended me muchly, and it's not like I haven't seen this before a billion times), there's the part where the girl screws up and sends things flying at the fancy dinner and a waiter says "Happens all the time..." Yes, really, they did that twice. And whoever wrote the lame-ass dialogue for this thing should be shot. Cliche, cliche, though there are a few cute remarks made over the loudspeaker at school ("Will the Feng Shui club please stop rearranging the furniture?"). And unfortunately, the boy leads in the flick look like they're in bands. One is obviously (and said in the movie) Backstreet, the other's clearly a Beatle with that hair (and actually is in a band). Oh, and Hector Elizondo (who has the best lines in the flick) seems to be pulling a Mrs. Brown with the queen, who's practically a saint. The grandmother in the book is pure biyotch, though I'm glad I didn't have to see that bit in the movie.

Anyway, I was not very impressed. I probably wouldn't have picked it out for Mom had I seen it before, but oh well, she may like it. Who knows. Then I watched that Osbournes tape I borrowed and liked it better. Wish I could have seen more of that show.

Oh, and hey, Firecat? I so relate to "Holy crap, when did I become an ADULT?" I've been saying that repeatedly! Oh yeah, and I don't like diamonds much either. If anyone tells me that stuff (betcha $50 it's my uncle), I'll probably hit 'em. I'm really leaning towards a claddagh again after seeing the gorgeous gold ones this weekend. I'm holding on to that guy's business card.

Dave continues to get injured on the job- yet another heavy object dropped on the same foot again today. If this keeps up, he will end up with something broken, geez. Oh yeah, and allergies of course are acting up. (I strongly suspect a spring/summer outdoor wedding will be out of the question for his allergies alone. Bleah, but I don't want him to be miserable outdoors either.) He asked again about the wedding- I don't even know yet! I haven't talked to Mom yet! I don't even have a place for him to stay in that town! Gah. I'm seriously thinking of pulling the "Dave's feeling sick and dropped a bunch of shit on his foot and his grandpa got a foot amputated and he NEEDS me!" card on Mom to get out of the wedding thing. Dave suggested having M&D come up here on Sunday and he could finally meet them. I'll have to see about that, because it could work well. He's talking about getting a haircut and spiffier clothes (should be interesting doing that, since not a lot of them fit him). In the meantime, I continue to sit in suspense.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com