Chaos Attraction

It's A White Tornado!

2002-05-20, 7:57 p.m.

Preparing for an interview with Dave around? Distracting, folks. I didn't sleep too much (I never do when I have to be rested for something the next day), but on the other hand, handy to have someone around when I started having nightmares about how I went in for the interview and they gave me some kind of timed test, only the lady wasn't clear as to when the test was starting and I only realized later on that (a) it had started and (b) she was asking the questions for the test instead of just chatting, then they gave me another timed test, then they went into a cubicle to badmouth me... Um, yeah.

Given that our usual morning routine when he's here and I'm working is that I get dressed ASAP and then hang out with him until I leave, it was weird to have to get up earlier and go primp and use hair gel and makeup (which of course er, came off about five minutes after I showed him the outfit). And it was amusing how Dave seemed to find me in a pantsuit and blazer to be hot. Er, not entirely sure why, but okay... but I had to keep reminding him to not mess up the outfit or the hair.

Huh. I don't know about that job interview. The people there (5! Dang, I was surprised at that much of a committee) were very nice and all that, and I don't think my answers were too bad, but I could only get so specific given (a) the job I have now not having a whole lot of variety to it and (b) not precisely knowing what I'd be doing on this one yet. I may or may not be suited for it, I'm not entirely sure. I could understand why they might not make the choice to hire me, and I wouldn't be bugged too much about it. (Of course, I say that NOW, but wait until the end of the week when I start pouting that I didn't.) Nice people to work with, and lord knows I'd be using my brain more and I'd like the money. But I don't know if they'd want to go with someone as inexperienced as I for it. I would expect them to pick someone else that had more over me, if such a person had applied for the position (I don't know, obviously).

The kickers were (a) finding out they want someone to start in a couple weeks because I don't know when I'll be out of here, and (b) the question of "Where do you see yourself in 3-4 years?", with the implication of them wanting me around guaranteed that long. (Predecessor was there for five until she got promoted or something) As you know, I have no bloody idea. It does NOT help matters in deciding any given that Dave goes back and forth on the matter. I said something along the lines of "I hope I'll be here, but there are personal circumstances that may come up in a few years, so it's hard to say." The lady was all "That's fair." Truth be told, how can you ask something like that? I'd like to be here, but it seems at least 50/50 that I won't be, and even if I thought I would be here, shit happens.

Generally when I think I didn't do so well in an interview, this tends to mean I get the job. As opposed to when I feel grrrreat after one, which so far has meant that I don't! I'm more towards the first one this time- not that I did bad, but they could do better. I won't be surprised if it's a no, and I wouldn't blame them for that. I may be intended for that other job anyway. We shall see, I guess.

Oh, following up on that bit about Dave being indecisive, he so keeps throwing me off on the moving thing. On Saturday he was pondering the idea of starting a store in this town because he likes it here, and then on Sunday it was all "You should move to my town because it's cheaper here and there aren't 500-people-long wait lists for living space and we need to get a house for the dog and they're less picky about that here and you could get a job here easier than I could there." Then when I was taking him to the train station today, he was all "No, let's move to Davis, that way my parents won't be over at our house all the time, I'll just transfer to Sac." See why I'm confused? I haven't the faintest which one is going to win out here in the end. And I can't very well tell interviewers that, beyond "I will do whatever I can to NOT have to move." Oy.

The weather here started to stink on Sunday and has been abysmal today. Not only has it been off-and-on raining, with the rain going from dry to major downpour within five seconds every other time I go outside, there have been TORNADO WARNINGS. Many of them. In this area?! Shocks the hell out of me. My coworker was freaked half the day because a tornado was spotted in the area of her kids' school. None actually in this town, mind you, but close to the nearby towns. And I laughed evilly when I heard there was a tornado heading for my ex's house. Muahahahah! I was worried about Dave getting home, given how there's been like 20 different rain-related accidents in Sac or something today. But apparently he got through the bus part fine and now the train's very late, thus making his ride unable to pick him up, and his dad refuses to drive out to the station he's stuck at. Geez.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com