Chaos Attraction

Moving and Not Moving

2002-07-13, 4:15 p.m.

I seem to be improving a bit. The coughing is definitely lessening, and happening less than it was before. The couging I do upon waking up still sucks, but otherwise it ain't bad. Manageable. And occasionally I actually want food. My appetite hasn't really returned, but I'm sort of, kind of, developing the urge to actually eat a meal again. Though I know damn well I wouldn't finish one if I made it, so I really might as well not bother.

Mom was talking about going out for a sandwich, and I suddenly REALLY wanted to do that. Hit up the nice deli downtown. Except, of course, I'm still not up to hiking around for food and would probably be wasting my money if I did. I don't think I have the energy to make myself a meal, though. We were out of spoons, so I had to do the dishes, and when putting them away to clear out the dish drainer I had to stand on a stool and got dizzy, which continued the whole time I washed. Not a good sign.

Maybe I won't be well enough to go back to work Monday/Tuesday. Though in all honesty, how I feel then really better not matter at that point. Given how Mom is calling me daily to freak out at me about how I'm going to lose my job for this, I really might as well go back soon. I could probably make it through a whole day's work, I'm mainly just tired. I go to bed at 11 after taking the antibiotics/huffing the inhaler, set the alarm for seven so I can go take them yet again, then sleep until oh, eleven, when I have to go huff the inhaler again. Then there's usually a late afternoon nap going on. Which I'm enjoying muchly, but I know I won't be able to get that much sleep ever if I go back to work. I haven't felt the nap need so far and it's nearly 4:30, though, maybe I'm improving?

Mainly, I'm just bored. I keep reading everything online that I can and then running out of my usual sites, sometimes reading books, and I just want something to do or talk about. There is, however, a fair amount of news about Dave, so I might as well talk about that.

I do seriously wonder about his family sometimes. I just don't get some of the things they do, as they are pretty opposed from what mine would do. Like, get what happened the other night. His mom asked him to go wash the family cars, so he went to go do that. However... what she failed to mention to him at the time she asked him to do the cars was that dinner was going to be ready soon. So while he's out washing, they all start to eat, and decide "Well, gee, guess Dave's not going to come and eat," so Grandma's given his food, and she's clearly eaten half of it ("just a taste") by the time Dave's done and comes in looking for dinner. As you can imagine, he was a bit pissed. Of course, Grandma then offers him her half-eaten plate, which he tells her to keep.

This incident apparently led to his mom telling him that he has three months to shape up his attitude towards Grandma, or move out. Given that his grandma's kinda bonkers and likes to pick fights with him in front of his mother, the "shape up his attitude" bit doesn't sound likely, doesn't it? (Then again, I've found that when people give you a time limit to "shape up your attitude," it doesn't really matter if you do or not- they're already fed up with you.)

The problem, as usual, is his dog. She's why he's put up with living with relatives for so long. He got her as a present at the age of 17 after nearly dying (long story), and naturally, he doesn't want to have to get rid of her. Of course, rental properties don't exactly want a bouncy (though quiet) medium-sized Golden Retriever either.

Dave may have already found a solution for this, though. Jeremy and Nikki have found an apartment complex and are about to sign a month-to-month lease (apparently leases in his town don't go yearly like mine. Lucky.), and after about a month or so, he can go in with them and hopefully get a bigger apartment. (Let's hope it's one closer to his job, since he lives on the buttfuck opposite side of town from there now.)

I'm not sure when he would actually move, since his parents are leaving town next weekend and returning the end of the weekend after that, and I just DON'T think it's a good idea for him to move out then and leave his grandparents alone with animals. I think he'll just sneak possessions out of the house for that week. I'm not sure where the heck I'll stay (I'm not allowed over there if his parents aren't there), but he's insisting I come up next weekend anyway, even if neither of us should be spending the hotel money right now, because if he's stuck with his grandparents alone his sanity will be going as is. Maybe I can stay at J&N's new place, or S&D's or something. Who knows, someone will tell me later, I'm sure.

Of course, no dog is allowed at J&N's complex, but if his parents are in a good mood, he can hopefully pay them to take care of her. Though his dad was in a bad mood the other day and said they'd sell her if he left, so who knows with them. Man. I swear, after a certain age, it just seems to me to be a bad idea to acquire pets, especially of the large sort. Mainly, if you're in your 20's and in the rental years, how on earth are you going to find housing that will take them? This is why I haven't had much in the way of pets, obviously.

Oh yeah, and I forgot to mention that Dave got talked into adopting one of S&D's baby rats. Named it Wicket. Oh well, at least rats are easy to take care of and house.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com