Chaos Attraction

It's Worse Than I Thought

2002-07-15, 5:27 p.m.

Oh, I am just so pissed and upset right now, you have no idea.

So I went to the doctor today because they'd made this big deal about a follow-up appointment. I'm thinking "So why am I missing more work to do this? He'll probably go 'okay, you're improving, that's nice' and I'll leave."

This dude just got on my nerves somehow. Nice enough person, I guess, but he just... irritated me. Rather like a teacher I had a few years ago that thought I was great, but he had this pomposity to him that drove me nuts.

For one thing, I never, EVER, want to hear the words "So, what's the color of the stuff you're coughing up?" again. He was quite shocked when I said I wasn't coughing anything up and said "You will." Oh, great, that'll be oh so lovely at work, to have me practically barfing on my desk. And we have TINY trash cans there. That can hold about two soda cans and that's it. That are taken out about once a week. I canNOT do that in public. Period.

For another... "Oh, you don't have bronchitis, you have pneumonia."

"WHAT?!?!"

He oh-so-casually, just tossing it off like it's no big deal, says that pneumonia often looks like bronchitis and they'd give me the same meds for the two anyway. Only guess what, pneumonia of course takes "forever" to get over. So much for hoping I'd be over this by the time I ran out of antibiotics, not to mention hoping I wouldn't be coughing and could breathe out of my nose again by this weekend. And I have to come back to him at the end of the month to get checked out again to see if I'm over it or have to get X-rays. He made a biiiig deal about how he didn't feel he had to X-ray me right this minute, blah blah blah. Yeah, I feel so special.

And yet, oddly enough, he wrote me a note saying I could go back to work. (Though I did go back to work today anyway, so hah on that. After I e-mailed her about my appointment, my boss said she would have sent me home had she been there the last day I was there.)

I'm not feeling too badly right now- not major coughing, not exhausted- but right now I want to shoot myself.

Oh well, at least now I figured out where I got it from- the only person I know of with pneumonia now is Dave's grandpa. Though I haven't been around him hardly at all in the last month, so I have no idea why I picked it up and his smoking parents, grandma, and Dave didn't. ARGH.

Dave just called and I filled him in, and he well, made me panic even more. He seems to think that once I'm off the antibiotics (end of Thursday), I'll get worse again, and that I should be staying home or wearing one of those masks to work or something. I promptly freaked out at him and he said "never mind! You'll be fine!" And since I have a note from the doctor saying I was cleared to go back to work, I guess contagion isn't a big problem. Still, even though the doctor never said anything about it getting worse, now I'm going to worry about that too. Great.

Of course, he still wants me to come for this weekend, especially since I'm currently feeling fine. I dunno, though, given my current freaked-the-fuck-out-ness. I'll probably go, you know me, but I'm not sure it's the best idea.


While I'm already talking about stuff that pisses me off, might as well tell you the latest developments in the Dave's-moving saga. His mom will NOT let him take the dog out of the house until he has his own apartment (in a few months). Yes, the same people who were claiming they'd sell her if he didn't take her with him, now won't let her go. I swear, it's just an excuse to (a) make Dave come back to the house every single day and/or do chores for them, and (b) make him keep paying them money to take care of her. I am just so annoyed at all this manipulation. And yet, he agreed to this.

I swear, sometimes I think I have the worst parents to deal with, and then somebody else's comes along to top mine. Dave's parents and the whole dog thing. Jeremy's parents, who are still trying to get him to move back home so they can steal his money and food again. Teri's mother, who keeps moving her curfew earlier and earlier and is constantly mad at her for existing or something, I don't even know what bug died up her ass. Maybe I got lucky.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com