Chaos Attraction

Rumor Mill (Part 1)

2002-07-19, 8:14 p.m.

Yes, I know this entry is posted way late even past when I wrote it. See the explanation below.

I'm sorry I haven't updated much this week. However, I've spent most of my nights either not at home or on the phone and just haven't been able to. Hasn't helped much either that I usually write entries on webmail while I'm waiting around for things to load at work, and webmail's been down. Developed some weird glitch where it won't load all of the graphics right, including the login button, and then it won't load anything when you hit where the login button should be. It's driving me nuts.

Anyway... all hell seems to have broken loose in the apartment situation. For one thing, Nikki went out and bought a cat. They can't even take care of themselves and she's pregnant to boot, and NOW's a good time to buy a cat?! And for another thing... well, things have gotten extremely ugly.

Basically, somebody has been spreading a bunch of nasty rumors about various people in the gaming crowd. Stuff like Scott and Demma do drugs and run a prostitution ring out of their apartment (yeah, right), somebody else having crabs, Dave and Scott are supposedly cheating with any woman they can find, etc. And for whatever stupid-ass reason, at least some of these rumors are being believed. I know of a few people who won't hang out with S&D any more because of their supposed drug habits. Anyway, somehow it's gotten around that supposedly S&D are the ones who are spreading the rumors around. Uh, yeah, RIGHT.

On Wednesday night, Jeremy and Nikki and a few other folks were all out at dinner together, and they apparently had a huge bitchfest about S&D and what they're supposedly saying about them. To the point where they decided they were going to go over to their place and bitch them out. Dave found this out when he called Nikki to tell her the cat thing was a bad idea (she didn't listen), and then called S&D to warn them. S&D were already in a bad mood, thanks to some more of the ugly stuff going down at that camp he used to work at. They'd had a friend of his from there come to visit for a few days, and when he got back, well... it was bad. I'm worried about that guy, and I don't even really know him (talked to him on the phone once).

So at 2:30 in the morning, they all went to S&D's and tried to get in the door. When they found it was locked, they started banging and screaming. Naturally, S&D screamed right back. I'm amazed nobody ended up calling the cops.

Anyway, this TOTALLY pissed Dave off that J&N would do that. He really didn't want to be in the middle of this, especially knowing that S&D weren't doing anything wrong. So he decided to hell with it, he wasn't moving in with them. And... he was honest about it. Told them they were being idiots, he didn't want to be in the middle of this war, and he wasn't moving in with them.

Since he told them on Thursday, they called him 33 times. No joke. Naturally Dave's stopped picking up when they call and listening to the voice mails. Jeremy even tried calling him at work (the girl who picked up claimed there was no Dave working there and hung up on him). Nikki even called me to try to rope me in on this. Fortunately I wasn't home at the time. When Dave heard this, he got even madder and said "this is the last straw." He is not thrilled that they are trying to get me involved in this and asked that I not call her back. I was kinda tempted to, but I don't want to get in the middle of it either. If, God forbid, Dave and Jeremy run into each other any time soon, there will be a rumble. It's that bad.

I am scared to go up there this weekend. I will hopefully be spending most of my time at S&D's (Saturday night/Sunday for sure), but hearing Dave say stuff like "I don't want you over there by yourself in case they all come back at 2:30 again" is not good. On the other hand, I'd rather deal with that than his family crap again. Right now the main topic of conversation in the house is "Jennifer better be sleeping in the other bedroom or your ass is getting kicked," apparently. Dave has to work Saturday morning and thus would like us to stay at his place Friday night (unless Demma's feeling nice and wants to give him a ride to work Saturday morning, in which case we could spend the night at S&D's), but I'd really rather just sleep over there, even if he's not there. At least then I could sleep in and not have to deal with his nervous grandma all Saturday. I don't want to get in the middle of any family stuff he's got going on right now. But on the other hand, Dave says S&D are in bad moods right now (course, you can't blame 'em). Any way you look at it, it doesn't look like it's gonna be a happy weekend.

But I have to go. Dave needs me very badly right now. Someone who's not involved in the feuds and isn't being a pain in the ass and can actually make him happy for a few days, you know? So I have to go... even though this is nervewracking. Oy.

Mom was... interesting last night on the phone. She asked if I was crazy enough about Dave to want to marry him someday. I said yes, and she then started warning me about his family, the whole "you marry his family too" thing, etc. I think the consensus among my parents is that his parents are worse than Auntie Dolores. (I wouldn't say that.) I think Mom feels sorry for him with all this shit going on. She did make a comment about how he sounds nice, but she hasn't met him yet. "I've tried!" I said, she ignored it.

In other, less icky news, I had my first metalsmithing and glass bead making classes this week.

Metalsmithing... I don't know about this one yet. We spent the first class watching him make a plain silver band, and we're going to make our own plain silver bands next week. The week after that, he's showing us how to make cabochons (flat-bottomed stones), and I guess how to put them into those little cups. And after that... apparently he won't be doing any more demos at all, we're just supposed to spend the rest of the class making our own projects. This makes me nervous. Hardly any instruction, and then it's "go to it, kids!"? Are we even going to know enough to do that? And there's so many steps to this that I'm not sure I can keep track of them all, or even remember all of the objects I'd have to check out from the center if I came in on my own time. And it turns out we can't do gemstones in this class, which kinda shoots out my idea of making wedding rings or something like that. Drats. Now I need to rethink of some kind of project. Probably involving cabochons, I guess, but all I can think of is a plain ring or pendant.

Glass bead making was last night, and the teacher had a totally different style than the last one. She showed us how to make a basic bead. Once. Then it was all "go to it, kids!" You had enough time to make one bead, then she called everyone back and she'd do another demonstration of a different kind of bead, then we'd have enough time to make one bead of that type, then another demo, etc. She showed us about six different kinds in three hours, but we didn't have a whole lot of time to practice, it was more like making an attempt at each one. There were some pretty cool styles, I must admit, but they were tricky. Making polka dots, attempting to make the polka dots into hearts, a bead with a twisty pattern around it, a bead with adventurine dust embedded in the middle of it and covered with clear. Most of mine are rather misshapen, but I managed to come out with six beads (two wouldn't come off the sticks). I guess this is a fairly impressive number, since she told me she'd had one student who came home with one.

I was rather nervous, since we were playing around with flaming torches (which I never managed to light on my own the entire night) and the melting glass didn't often behave so well. I so felt like a clod the entire night, bungling beads, being unable to light the torch, burning myself, etc. etc. And yet, it was more interesting than the metalsmithing class. I'd like to think that with some more time and practice, I could improve at this. The advanced class starting next week (two sessions of that one) has phenomenal stuff that will be taught in it, so we'll see how I do at that, I guess.

I SO want to go shopping lately. Buy some books, buy some beads, buy some jewelry-making books... and yet, I have had no time in the last few days due to the classes and the panicked phone calls from Dave. And then I'm going to be gone for the weekend, can't shop then. Argh. I'm going to have to squeeze all this stuff in on Monday or Tuesday afternoon or something.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com