Chaos Attraction

Charade

2022-08-12, 8:04 p.m.

People around me keep having days. Today it was my new temp coworker having her tires slashed.* Her daughter got an anonymous text asking where she was parking her car that night, daughter didn't respond but her car was put in the garage. So my coworker's tires got slashed instead. Charming, people. Police are being called.
Unfortunately the family is of a demographic where.... well, people are more likely to be asshole, I suspect.

At work, I was in office and I had my meeting with IBB over Zoom at 9:30. At circa 9:21, Grandboss pulls me into a meeting and wants me to do some big project Right Now. And I was utterly forced to say "I have a meeting at 9:30, can we do the rest of it later?" and say with who and about what. GODAMMIT. I was not okay with that. I will note that I went back to the meeting after, she explained what she wanted, I used my speed reading skills and finished it before noon and that was fine, but....eeek.

Anyway, I had my talk with IBB, pointed out that we can't really get cooperation with other offices to do stuff, we've had certain problems going on for 10-20 years and they will never be fixed, and probably a lot of the stuff I have giant chronic problems with will never be fixed.... and then yes, I talked about all my horror show of a work life and how I'm trapped and all the shit that's happened to me, pointing out that I need my supervisors to not hear this stuff and why--he said he wouldn't. I think he feels sympathetic to people who are trapped and asked a few things about what I've tried, and admitted that after ten years it'd be hard to find what hasn't been tried. I really enjoyed the talk, though I did say I didn't expect him to do anything, I have to save myself and clearly I can't, etc. It was so nice to talk to someone who was sane and just listened and winced at the bad stuff, you know? It felt better, even if nothing's going to change, probably. I told him that my former coworker thought he was great and he said he missed her too. Awww. I wish we could keep this dude. God only knows who we'll end up with in the end around here.

In other work news, they sent out a survey about what snacks to buy for the office, and while I was rummaging about in there, I realized some of that stuff was dairy-free. So I checked the godairyfree website and fished out what snacks were safe, and went to the nearest convenience store at work (which has a pretty wide selection) and got more stuff. Protein bars, his favorite kettle chips, pretzels, other snacks along those lines. So for not getting off my ass and going to an actual store, this worked out pretty well.


After work, I went to the opening night of "Charade," which is a play adaptation of the "Charade" movie I saw years ago done by someone at that theater. Two people play the leads and the other three characters from their in-house improv team (one of them being the playwright) play all of the other characters in the show. I note it's modernized with cell phones and the dollar amount being $10 million instead of the 1962 money. They had a set with a lot of doors and Mondrian lighting, and would blast pictures on the doors. It got pretty hilarious towards the end when at one point there's a near-dead body in a hotel room and there's a sign saying "Housekeeping didn't come" and at the end the sign says, "Honestly have no idea where this is." Hahahahah. Also, some of the costumes these folks had to wear were hilarious. Like hook hand, terrible beard, prim and proper boy shorts...of the three changing actors, one was the playwright, one a normal-sized woman, and a very twiggy woman who had to also play the married friend's son.

The plot: Reggie Lampert is married to Charles, a guy she claims to barely know, never see and just realized she doesn't love after like a year of marriage. He's rich but doesn't work and who the hell knows what he does, but he's gone a lot. She comes home from a ski trip with a friend to find out that Charles has cleared out their previously overstuffed apartment, and then a police inspector drops by. Turns out Charles just died from being thrown out of a train, and he just sold all of their shit at auction for $10 million. And the police, the embassy, and her husband's former coworkers (all weird and creepy) are all hitting her up for this money that she has NO idea about at all. The only guy on her side (except for her married friend at the start and finish) is a hot stranger calling himself "Peter Joshua" originally who befriends her, but is some kind of double agent or something and keeps changing his name and backstory every half hour. So naturally when she is all "I don't ever want to hear a lie out of you again!" they keep on coming. And it's a romance! By the time the guy's final identity is revealed and he proposes, she's all "We'll have four sons and we'll marry them all after you!" Which is hilarious, but also, what is with this woman's taste in men?!?!

It was very well done and got a standing O. I highly recommend.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com