Chaos Attraction

You Won't Believe This One

2002-09-11, 8:24 p.m.

(I was on hiatus during this time, am reposting what I wrote to the mailing list.)

Would you believe that Dave's ex-boss called him to apologize and ask him to come back to work today?

I still don't believe it, myself.

What's really funny is that first he called Dave (who was in the can and didn't answer his phone), then called his house, where he got chewed a new asshole by Dave's mother. Heheheheh.

Anyway, both of them apologized for saying what they said, but Dave still wouldn't come back to work there. He's had enough. Since ex-boss wasn't exactly wanting his behavior to go on the official record (aHEM), they're putting down that he "quit for personal reasons." I was wondering if he was going to go back, but I guess he's moving on with the whole thing.

I was kind of expecting something to happen. I figured he wasn't going to be working there much longer one way or another, and then would come the debate about does he look for a job here or there. But the both of us feel a bit surprised and shell-shock-ish that he's actually here for that purpose. When he packed, I think he pretty much packed everything. I'm not sure where we're going to put it. He said he felt like he was escaping everything last night, hadn't even called any friends to tell them he was leaving. He's home right now reading my job-hunting books and getting all bummed out that they are obviously designed for advanced job-seekers and new college graduates. He wants me to help him do a resume tonight, and I have the feeling I will be pretty stumped as to how to do it. I feel kind of nervous for him, with all of this happening at once. Especially when I'm part of the cause of it, in a way.

But on the other hand, last night was steamy, and this morning was quite mushy and happy. Wow. This could be fun to get used to every day.

As you perhaps figured out by the tone of this, I'm not exactly in a big mourning period today. I'm distracted by my own life, which seems pretty okay to me. Last year at this time I was frantically involved in the media and alone, this year I'm sitting around calmly at work (albeit I am really bored of typing the same thing over and over again) and much to my surprise, have someone to come home to. Not bad.

I wasn't going to read the media onslaught on the net today, but have been doing it off and on (like I said, I'm bored). Mostly just skimming, really. I don't have much else to say about it any more anyway. It's been a year. Things seem to be recovering. Let's move on.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com