Chaos Attraction

I Wrote This Out Of Order Too

2022-09-21, 10:02 p.m.

Another in-office day. I think I spent 60% of it doing mail. I will note that I actually got through all of the BUT THE EMAILS today, including the ones my boss tagged with my color that I have ignored since June. I note that if you let some stuff sit long enough, they clearly managed to solve it themselves without me, muahahah, and then I passed a few off to other people in the "welp, I don't know what this is, but um, sounds like an advising issue," and that left me down to one, where the party who sent it is gone and the lady remaining was all "heck if I know on this either!" Either way, technically more or less dealt with, muahahah.

We also had an online Zoom with the Future BigBoss, still in Florida for the time being. He seems nice so far. The first thing he was asked right off was about hybrid. He said in Florida that for political reasons, everyone was forced to go back to work in person, he's allowed 2 days from home a week and likes the ol' "rolling out of bed to start work" thing himself. (I note he doesn't get to make that decision there?!) Anyway, he said he's open to it, so that's a yay. He also noted that a LOT of people quit over being forced to go back, particularly the IT people, and it took awhile for them to get a hybrid schedule there after that. He uses Teams over Slack (grrrr...is this why we're being told we have to switch) and said something about just getting rid of phone lines and using Teams.

Also, "I want to empower people to do their jobs, I do not like babysitting folks."

I found another cloth heart on the way home today. So that's still happening...

Had singing lesson today-- more "As Long As He Needs Me." That is hard, 'nuff said. We at least finished going through the song, so there's that. Then we did a wee bit of "A Trip To The Library," without sheet music. She is still interested in doing tap class, I may send a reminder to her next week.


Rehearsal: the opening songs, all Christmassy ones basically. In the middle of it, Jean had most of the ladies try on clothes. Apparently we don't have much in the way of Dickensian wardrobe because last time they borrowed from some other theater and now that theater is doing the same show, so Jean said she'd have to measure us and make things. We did try on white see-through Victorian dresses, which thankfully we will NOT have to button up the backs of. We will, however, have to literally crawl on the floor in large white dresses, which seems bizarre on many levels, not to mention dirty. I asked about what kind of boots to get and I got "black" and "has heels" and "Amazon or Evangeline's."

We did get one recruit--Virginia's boyfriend John to be Businessman #2. Whew.

Quotes: Boris asks who "Sandwich Board Man" is. It's Omar. "Am I in trouble?" he asks. Danny: "Not yet, give it time."

Boris: "You're all rich women in this show." Dannette: "I wish!"

Boris: "You sit on that note until you might pass out."

Felicia: "I was born to be in Victorian clothing."

Dannette (being shorter than usual height) has her own section of the costume shop for her wardrobe. Felicia: "Does it have your name in lights over the top?! It should!" Agreed.

Other Jennifer, wearing a sweater dress today and surprised at being told to try on clothes today: "I don't have on my cartwheel pants..." I cracked up and was all "I just call 'em shorts...."

Scrooge Scott to Sage: "And then you get to kick me!"

Jan: "You sound like a cast of 35!"


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com