Chaos Attraction

When The Bird Drops

2022-09-24, 10:03 p.m.

Saturday 9/24:

I went to the Folsom Renaissance Faire today, alone (which was probably for the best--I pondered inviting Rae and never quite did it, Ashley told me later Rae wanted to quit doing whatever it was they were doing that day early anyway). I actually managed to lay off on the purchases this year--I got about 3 thrift store-y books (one for Alisa on figuring out your wardrobe style since it's an issue for her, she was quite pleased when I gave it to her), a rainbow fidget ring (just what I always wanted!), and a blouse to go with the see-through green skirt I got at the Scottish Games since that vendor was back again. I tried them on together later and I dunno how much they match, but oh well. Still pretty. I also was pleased to see the sassaparilla booth was back this year and got two cheap refills with my custom bottle, yum.

I didn't watch as many shows this year since it was about 95 out and frankly, every dang show there has NO SHADE AT ALL. I just watched the arena shows this year-- Knights of Mayhem again and other new shows involving people beating each other up with padded sticks. (At least there was some SLIGHT shade at the end of the last one.) Much to my surprise, Omar was involved in those shows--he's in some group called "Kuroheim" where they practice fighting at Fairytale Land. Obviously I recognized him since he's like 6'6. I finally got to talk to him at the end of his last show circa 3 p.m. and we were both all "we're both really hot and about to go home!" about it.

I swear, getting in my car after that was THE HOTTEST THING ALL DAY. I got my car to blast air as hard as it could go--I've finally figured out THAT setting--but it just did not blow cold air at all, just air, and I was boiling driving on the freeway in the whole giant skirt/blouse/corset ensemble I had on. I normally have high heat tolerance, but this hit my limit.

Because it was on the way home and I really don't know when the hell I'll get over there otherwise since it's out of my way for everything else I'm doing in the next few weeks, I stopped by Evangeline's to see if they had any Victorian shoes/wigs and if I could find some kind of Encanto wig. I didn't quite find what I was looking for on the latter one (the shorter wigs were too short)--I ended up with a curly Captain Hook wig, which presumably I could cut down if I wanted to, but it's cute at least. They don't carry Victorian wigs, so I'm gonna have to deal with the ones I ordered off the Internet and hope one works.

I bought myself a hippie fanny pack just for fun. I also tried on an amazing Mexican-style dress that I wanted (except for the awful weird stiff underskirt under it), but I probably can't get since I'm white, sigh.

As for the Victorian shoes, I found ONE pair that were in a size I could wear that fit, and as far as I could tell, might possibly work. The darned things are tied together so it's not like I could walk around in both at the same time and see, but they didn't immediately pinch/rub/hurt the second they went on one foot or the other, so that's not an insta-rule-out. I asked when the deadline is to bring them back if they don't work and they said October 5, which is...right around when the shoe order I placed online would arrive. SIGH. I just don't know. My feet just hate wearing shoes and I have no idea if any of them will work and this was my only shot at trying shoes IRL, so...sigh. I've spent nearly $400 on costume crap this week because I had to pay for various options just to see if they fit my damn feet/head, BLECH.

We shall see. Only one of the wigs has arrived yet--I may wait to have the other wig arrive first and then make the decision--but nothing else has shipped yet, so...who knows.

After that, my car was STILL BOILING HOT even though it'd been sitting in shade for an hour, and I was about to die by the time I got home. I ended up getting a giant slushie at the gas station for dinner and some divey noodles. I managed to cram food in, shower, do makeup and put on the under-costume stuff in about a half hour, so go me there.


Show: this was the one night where a few things went wrong, so it's good that we weren't filming then (we normally film the 3rd Saturday rather than 3rd Friday). My hat decided to inexplicably pop off at the end of "Belle" (annoying when I'm in the front), but other people had it worse. The bird that's supposed to drop from the sky that LeFou is supposed to (badly) catch did NOT drop, which was awkward. Jan said the beak caught on something. We kept wondering if it would drop at some other point during the show and agreed it would be best if it dropped during the bar scene. It did not. I have since learned that the dead bird has a name, Federico. And finally, Scott's wig fell off at the end, and him being an improv guy, added in a line, "I'd bet my wig on it!"

Per Jillian's homecoming invite, Sierra brought various old dresses of hers if she or anyone else wanted them. Jillian, Alisa and Jean (the size 2's in the bunch) enjoyed trying them on, for sure.

Quotes from the dressing room:

Alisa: "We are the shitty bun girls!" Alisa: "Would it be so bad if I put the wrong dress on by mistake?'

Sierra: "My wig's like, actually cooperating today." "I am pancaked on the ground."

Sarah on the wolves scenes: "So much prep for about 30 seconds." I note that she accidentally scared Kimmie while in wolf head backstage.

Rachelle is not enjoying parenting this week: "I'm done with being a mom this week. Children are the worst...He lost a lot of stuff this week."

Julia told a story about being in a stage version of Slaughterhouse 5 as a kid and said she was VERY SHELTERED during this production, like locked in a separate room and only brought out for her scenes and nothing else. Oy! (Never read it, never gonna.)

The bird and the bar: Me: "Wouldn't it be funny if the bird drops in the bar scene?" Annie: "I'm going to throw a mug at it." Sarah: "That means that all that's holding it up is time and luck." What if it drops in another scene? Sarah: "It has to hit Lucas."

Christmas Carol discussion: Should there be a kickline in "Dancing On Your Grave?" "I love a good kickline. But that's for Abundance and Charity." -Felicia. Me: "If they kick a body in..."

Me on the line about how Guillaume became a doormat: "Did they just discover that? Did he go ouch when someone stepped on him?"

Jean: burp "Excuse me, I'm still in the bar."

Sarah shared a fun fact about how "elephants think we're cute" and somehow scientific studies have been done to figure out that elephants react to us the way that humans react to seeing puppies.

Someone asked Alisa if Jared is a brat at home too. "Noooooo..." even during line readings at home, he's chill.

Unknown: "I smacked somebody's butt." Jean: "I've been hit in every scene so far."

We found out that Annie's dad has a creepy puppet named Ebenezer "that he takes everywhere." Will he come to Christmas Carol?

Sierra's dad totally slouched in the front row, which amused us all. He's always up to something when he comes to a show...

Eve to me: "You're motivated to become human again so you can get that fork off your back."

Me: "Maurice is kinda like Timmy down the well."

Annie on picture day tomorrow: "I'll wear my wolf costume so no one knows it's me." (She did not.)

The Woodland people came by tonight, so I saw Eddie and Danny. Amy took a selfie with me, which was very sweet. Usually it's just the name people who get those, obviously.

I was supposed to go to karaoke after the show got out. Ashley kept asking and I said I'd give her a ride home early--her dad was doing Rance's shift that night and she'd been there since 6. I also didn't think anybody was going to go to IHOP on the second night after people didn't really go on the first night--but then a bunch more people were wanting to go. And right as I arrived at the bar, Ashley said she just wanted to go home already. So I drove her home and then went to IHOP again. This time there was also Stacy, Felicia and Lucas, Jared/Alisa/Jillian (though she was flopped on the table again for half of it and the other half on her phone), and Scott. I came in late so he was on the dead opposite of the table from me, solved that problem, I suppose. He got a fruit plate--I did hear some kind of conversation about how the place can't promise allergy-free food but I guess that would do it.

I did overhear some Music Man stuff, such as only Annie, Molly, Sarah and Maurice-Steve did NOT get covid in that cast. Flabbergasting. Also they shuffled so many people around in the dance numbers that after the first week, Scott (who hates Shipoopi) was forced to be in Shipoopi. I note he phrased this as "I don't care for Shipoopi." I kind of wanted to laugh at that one and felt sorry for him at the same time.

He did say good night to me upon leaving, but that's as much conversation as we had all weekend.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com