Chaos Attraction

Parents at Performances

2022-09-25, 10:04 p.m.

Show: This show supposedly legitimately sold out, but yet we still had some empty seats. I don't know how that works these days. Maybe they're out with covid, I dunno. (I'm amazed nobody has come down with it the entire run so far. I just knocked on wood again.)

On a related note, Marguerite has covid now. "She was doing better, now she's not," said Steve. Sigh.

We had photos taken today. When asked if the object should wear human clothes or object clothes, Steve said, "Objects. Humans are boring."

Apparently Ryan's death scene gets laughs (I don't get to see it). People are fine with that.

Scenes from the dressing room:

Jean told a story about signing up for a beginning jazz class in Woodland that turned out to be nothing but her and a bunch of 12-and-down-year-olds. Some of them were from the Madagascar show and knew/recognized her, others were totally confused and asking what an adult was doing there. They were also doing "Baby Shark," which Jean had not heard of, and apparently they give out "sparkle points" from the "sparkle office" to get kids to shut up. She noted one little boy absolutely could. not. do. that. She was all "what I am doing here?" and said as much to the teacher after the class. I asked her if the office was actually sparkly and she said, "I didn't line up for the sparkle process," so she didn't know. I'm seriously pondering trying to find sparkle stickers to hand out next week, just for kicks.

We had a conversation about how so many people look a lot younger than their ages, shocking Julia.

Maya, missaying a tongue twister: "And where she shines, she shits." LOL

Jean to Sarah: "Did you have to urinate?" Sarah, re: Urinetown: "Actually, yes."

Maya: "I'm 11 and I never received my Hogwarts letter." Annie: "Neither did I."

We were making cracks about Gaston's bar being a lesbian bar and what to name it. "Le Petitc Chat?" "Le Kitty Kat Klub?" I believe "Chick-Fil-A" was the winner. In other news, Jean and Rachele are partying it up at the bar before the curtain opens.

Sierra: "We're silly girls, we can do whatever we want as long as it gets a laugh."

Alisa: "God, we talk about EVERYTHING." Jean: "Preferably breasts and body parts. I get a sparkle point for that one." Rachelle: "Why are we all singing about a dude?"

Alisa: "I couldn't get up off the ground, I looked like a drunk napkin."

Jan was trying to hit Rachele up to audition for Aldonza someday. Rachele: "I do like a gut wrenching dark show."

Annie on being a wolf: "I could have taken her if I wanted to."

Felicia told me she either wanted microfiber lights or a bubble machine to come out of the wine bottle (I note she actually wore it for the photo today). She said Jean sounded interested, but thought Steve would object. I, of course, would have been all for it.

I am happy to report that the bird dropped tonight and hair stayed on. On the other hand, Annie (me yesterday: "How many injuries have you gotten during this show?" Annie: "Three") injured her knee somehow and Rachelle was all, "I'm your dance partner tonight!" to me. Since Rachelle trained Annie in how to dance with me in the first place, that was fine.


After the show, I was having conversation with Boris and Rachele (note: Marian in Music Man) and he said he loves B&tB and was not that into Music Man. Rachele agreed with him. They were both talking about a new theater company, Rise Up in Rancho Cordova--Boris is supposed to meet the lady who runs it who was here today, Rachele was considering auditioning for The Fantasticks there--and she mentioned they are doing Avenue Q later on in the season! OMG I COULD AUDITION FOR AVENUE Q!!!!! Must discuss with Morgan. That'd be a bonus of not getting into Young Frankenstein if I can swing for Avenue Q, albeit their rehearsals start at 6 p.m., 30 minutes away, which is not great with traffic so I dunno there. (Then again, all the towns around here in general are all 1/2 hour or so away from here/each other at night anyway.)

Brian was hanging around afterwards grumbling that Kimmie was taking too long cleaning up after the show. They are driving down to Disneyland tonight and the hotel is giving them shit about not arriving until very late (12:30) so I get his concern, I suppose. Like, been there done that with Mom. It also explained why he was going on about where to find fried chicken at Disneyland when I walked in. He was also razzing Sierra ("the daughter I never had and never wanted," kind of stuff), which she is fine with. Brian also ranted that he thinks Brigadoon is too long/boring and while he likes being in Fiddler, he doesn't like to WATCH it and will only do it it offered Lazer Wolf--alas, people keep offering him Tevye. Interestingly enough, he said he'd only watch Brigadoon if he knows 12 people in the show and 8 for Fiddler. How many times has he seen Brigadoon, a show he hates? "Oh, seven."

Julia said her parents go to all her shows. As in LITERALLY EVERY SINGLE PERFORMANCE, not just once during the run. "I've been in 300+ shows and they've only missed two." This seriously made me cry when I got home to think about.

Scott's grandparents (and some other people I don't know? Possible other relatives? I thought I met everyone at the funeral and they're all brunettes and these people were blonde, but who knows) were there and I talked to them when Scott wasn't around again. His grandmother is SO SWEET and said she was watching me, liked the purple outfit, asked what I'd be doing next and expressed interest in Christmas Carol (we'll see there, I guess, if her grandson isn't in it). I like his family so much, I swear. (Another reason why I came home and cried afterwards.)

Scott briefly came over by me when Brian was talking, but I walked off again without speaking to him. I hate this. I hate ignoring him all the time. But it's for my own good, you know? I am desperate to find love and a replacement family and I won't be getting it in this lifetime anyway, but especially not from him. I have to learn that in my heart and not try to make more of it.


Rehearsal tonight: "Dancing On Your Grave", "Yesterday, Tomorrow and Today," the finale songs. Looooong night of this. I have now been cut from the gravedigger number due to costume changing, which since it sounds like they have to dance with HEAVY shovels (because light/fake ones do not exist, I'm told last time people brought ones from home), I am fine with, even if Felicia was a little bummed. She also read she has to SIT on the shovels, which she is not thrilled about.

I did do my brief one-page solo tonight. Now I'll note I asked Jan over the weekend, "do you want me to it in creepy voice or no?" and she said "no, do it in your normal voice." Boy, did she change her mind on THAT one tonight :P Creepy voices for all! So that's...interesting.

During this Mom tried calling (sigh...I rerouted her to text) and she decides that oh NOW she wants to go to dinner after the show on the last night (note: she's never made this offer before on any other show), and can't I just leave for an hour and come back? I said no, because they have learned from experience that people won't come back to take the sets down if they go get din-dins and I won't be out for hours until set dismantling is done, and said "you wanna eat at 11," which I knew they would not and of course they did not. So... that went about as expected, because you can't entertain a man between 12-2. Gah. I said "this is why I said come today, I could have gone out today...." SIGH.

Quotes tonight are all either from Boris or Scrooge Scott, pretty much.

Scrooge Scott, after spilling a drink and saying he knew it was going to happen: "I'm psychic, or psychotic, one or the other." (Good answer. I say.)

Scrooge Scott: "Sopranos have haunted me." Boris: "I'm sorry to hear that."

Boris: "Mrs. Mops, not Potts." Scrooge Scott: "Wrong show."

Boris on Mrs. Mops/undertakers: "My three mafiosos."

When Boris asked who was playing which kid parts, Soji (Sage's mom): "When in doubt, it's Sage."

Boris, impressed we picked something up faster than expected: "I thought we were going to spend 20 minutes on that." "Beautiful, let's go home."

Both Jan and Dannette mentioned the last show, in which Tiny Tim said, "God help us, every one." Boris: "Very accurate."

Scrooge Scott on note holding: "Hold it until we pass out."

Boris, after saying we don't have a choir (in the script). "Who said we don't have a choir? Wasn't me!"


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com