Chaos Attraction

Nothing Much, It's January

2023-01-03, 12:59 p.m.

Monday: didn’t do much of anything. Watched the Rose Parade, tried to go back to bed, did a little crafting, watched more Hallmark. I also looked at the audition stuff for Avenue Q and they moved up the audition dates by like a week and are requiring two songs, one “Broadway” and one in “character voice,” which I emailed Morgan about. We’ll have to see on that one.

I had planned to go to bed early, but Melinda called around 9ish and if she calls, you know it’s bad--her international boyfriend had a freakout and kinda broke up with her. He finally got the visa, he’s supposed to come in a few weeks, and now he’s suddenly all “I wish I had never met you” and “I’m only going to come long enough to give you back your stuff and that’s IT.” Well, that’s better than canceling altogether, I suppose, and she said it’s reasonable for him to freak out at the idea of leaving his entire culture to live HERE as a Muslim man and probably never see his sick mother again. She is taking it better than I would, just kinda letting him be for the time being.

She says not to let other people's opinions of me get me down, but frankly I don't see how not to do that. I can't ignore work's opinion of me, it matters more than my own. Or if I'm a repulsive person in general.


Tuesday: BACK AT WORK AGAIN WAAAAAAAAAAAAH but hasn't been a nightmare so far? Had morning meetings, got all the urgent emergency crap done in time for me to have therapy--which I note work made me cancel on today--then tried to do it last minute, then therapist said she was at the doctor's with an emergency hearing loss issue. Oy.

Other than that, I had nearly 300 emails to go through (I got as far as up to today), but happily most of that was just mailing lists or stuff others have responded to already, so I didn't have to do all that much. I didn't get any creepy stalker emails from my NYT thing, so WHEW there. Rather peaceful, actually, though the old "I hate my job" voice went off in my head pretty much all day anyway.

After work, I went to karaoke with Ashley while it was still dry. There were four singers (us, Marlena and her boyfriend James) for the most part. and a few other nonsingers and that was it, but hey, lots of singing time.

They are saying basically "don't leave your house tomorrow, you may die" around here, which I guess means I'm skipping tap class and counting my blessings it isn't an in-office day for me. Mom texted me to say that they should cancel rehearsal tomorrow and I said well, it's only the dancers tomorrow (not me) and that's not up to me, but I won't be over anyway. And I just saw an email that Winters is canceling their auditions that they were going to have tomorrow for the all-male play due to weather conditions. It seems at least somewhat likely power goes off around a lot of town again, whee.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com