Chaos Attraction

Victorian Dressing

2022-10-22, 9:19 p.m.

Set construction day: painted primer/white paint onto two flats, spent hour+ waiting around for each side to dry before doing the other side. So not exactly an exciting painting job day--maybe next week. Kimmie wasn't in, so I don't know what she was going for with these anyway. The builders worked on making the 4-poster bed--from scratch, apparently.

Did have an entertaining lunch with Steve in which we talked about TV shows, poop (I won't explain, but let's just say the book I was reading on Victorian life got to the privy chapter and then the custodian came in....), jerkass politicians, and the like. He said they went to Apple Hill yesterday and due to the lack of apples (the joys of bad weather this year), it was pretty empty. Pie prices went from $12 to $18 due to lack of apples, but they still got baked treats anyway.

After finishing the flats, Jean had us decorate the white ghost dresses with pinning on various rags she had in a bin. Felicia, Sage and I picked out how to decorate ours, recruited whoever else was in the building that wanted to to do theirs, leaving Sage, Maya and I to decorate the other three people's outfits. I uh, hope they like what we did... I found a bunch of gray holey strips cut kinda hula-style and pinned one around my neck, two on the arms and two around the waist hula-style, which I think won't trip me or interfere with putting it on quickly. Some other folks may have to see how that goes when floor crawling.

We're also not sure what to do with our hair. There's bonnets that Annie made. Felicia has a white wig, Sage is getting some wigs, I just got the one wig. The "Old Joe" outfit has a mob cap. We're supposed to have "stringy hair" as ghosts, but that number is like, a minute 30 seconds or so? Nobody has time for hair just for that one. I'm not sure what people are going to do.

Felicia was trying on her costumes before then and has some concerns about the green dresses not fitting great at the top--tried mine on and well, it doesn't either, but oh well. Jean basically told us to get pushup bras and I was all, "literally you are the only person who cares about my boobs." Felicia seriously started looking at boob tape on the Internet after that. I was all "yeah, I could put on a corset, but eh...who cares..." Nobody likes me anyway, what does it matter?

This led into conversations about how most of this cast is of normal lady weight/size--no string bean tiny dancers in this one a la Producers or B&tB--and how we were feeling kinda shamed-ish for like, having stomachs/no waist/boobs and weighting of normal size, and that's why nobody gets a skimpy Santa outfit as they intended. Like, depressed/crying was going on, it sounds like. Or just trying to get stuff to fit at times. Sage pointed out that their mom is tall and thin and STILL had issues finding clothes that fit for this show because most things were still too small. That's so annoying.

After that, I went to the grocery store (Jan called to invite me to dinner, but I was mid-grocery shop) and then went home and watched a few episodes of "It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia," per Vicky's recommendation. She liked season seven, so I watched the game episode and the "Frank wants to marry a hooker" episode. The bitching about someone getting fat part of that reminded me too much of earlier today and I ended up turning that off halfway through.

Ashley called--she's out of the hospital between having to go back again, is on bed rest, asked if I could come over tomorrow, which I will before rehearsal.


Rehearsal: just music tonight, and not every song out of all the pages (much to some people's relief). Morgan was back, having tested negative along with Hugo. Scrooge Scott was on Zoom, gamefully trying to play along even with volume and lag issues. Mostly just went through the long/big songs.

Quotes (mostly Boris unless otherwise mentioned):

"Everyone is an opera star. For one minute."

Omar, apparently discussing a previous production of B&tB: "I was a fork." Noel: 'Fork you1" Me: "I said that a lot."

Boris: "Right now, we're imitating a violin. We're always imitating something." Danny: "I'm imitating a singer."

"I left my whip at home. You guys are good. I only use that on little kids."

Morgan, after being told about having to be jumping/kicking at the end of Fezziwig: "I can jump rope and sing. That was a long time ago...The vibrato is just me, kicking."

Morgan, after practicing the fishmonger's lines at home, as reported by her: Hugo: "You have crabs?" Morgan: "I think you would know by now."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com