Chaos Attraction

I Asked And Guess What Happened

2021-11-09, 8:37 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Producers Audition - 2021-11-14
All Together Now - 2021-11-13
A Giant Volcano - 2021-11-12
Auburn Excursion - 2021-11-11
Another Show Instead - 2021-11-10

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Brief reviews of Hallmark movies of late:

Christmas Sail: Honestly, I expected better from Katee Sackoff, who I love, but this movie is kinda dull. It's another "save the house by winning a contest" plot except the contest is decorating a sailboat with a light up sail and a sail that has pictures projected onto it, which looks cool, but apparently isn't technically doable according to the Internet. There's the occasional moment that amused me, but I dunno, needed more personality, though the guy tries.

Gingerbread Miracle: My absolute favorite so far, involving MAGICAL WISH COOKIES at a Mexican bakery. I adored this. I want one of those cookies. I also appreciate the Mexican culture stuff going on, and the couple is adorable. There's this whole thing about how she wrote him a love letter as a teenager and he didn't find it for months, at which point she was having a fake relationship with "Jean-Pierre...." and then he's kind of freaked when a nice French chef wants to date her/buy the bakery. The chef is not a villain, which I enjoyed. Also has a gingerbread house obstacle course, which is insane and I am here for it.

Next Stop, Christmas: My second favorite one, girl somehow ends up "train traveling" (with Christopher Lloyd, I SEE WHAT YOU DID THERE SHOW) to ten years ago to revisit if she should have married her now-famous ex. Turns out the answer is no, Tyler is perfectly nice but work-obsessed and she should really be boning her best friend instead. Lyndsey Fonseca is quite charming. I also appreciated her blurting out the time travel thing to her best friend and him immediately making a Terminator reference.

A Christmas Treasure: I thought this was supposed to be about a time capsule, but really it's a cooking movie. The chef guy is quietly but obviously cheesed when ladies ask for salt and pepper. The girl is investigating her great-grandfather's writing career. Honestly, kinda distracted/bored for other reasons while this was going on, that may just be me.

I caught a couple of the Hallmark Mysteries ones, which I am usually less into:

The Christmas Promise: This is "The Shop Around The Corner" except (a) the heroine is grieving her dead fiance and the hero is griving his dead brother, (b) she hires him to work on her house except they get along perfectly well, (c) SOMEHOW the hero gets the fiance's phone number and they end up anonymously texting each other, no, it's not a ghost. I did enjoy that they aren't mad at each other in this one.

Christmas with Mrs. Miracle: I liked this better than I expected, given the whole "angel comes to help out at the house" plot. Gloria Merkel (the song "Gloria" is named after her, she says! And she hums her own song!) shows up to keep the heroine's injured grandma company. The married couple are quietly sad that (a) she's infertile and (b) the kid they wanted to adopt went back with his mother. But guess what, a girl is coming to them! It was cuter than I thought, I guess? Caroline Rhea is perky but not insufferable. I'm also mildly curious that her dead teen daughter is haunting a jewelry store or something?


Only slept for 2 hours again last night. Though I had plans with Dawn and Loretta today but they were all "no, that's Thursday now" (fine). My therapist had to put off our phone call till 11:45, so that worked out. Mostly I just sat around watching Hallmark movies.

Also, one of my bathroom sinks is clogged and I had to wait on the apartment manager to look at it--she was in for 30 second and "yeah, it's clogged and gross, calling a plumber tomorrow." Actually, she got some very nice guys (maskless, though, ahem) to come over by the time I got home again and they had it unclogged by 5:20ish with some industrial cleaner. Huzzah.

AND THEN THERE WAS THERAPY.

"Men are idiots when it comes to this shit. We think we're so obvious...." "He has no fucking clue what you are thinking." Re: the romcom moment: "If that's not a fucking green light, what is?' she ah, screeched, along with "OH COME ON." HowEVER, when I told her that the book I read on dating spelled out "say it's a date or they don't get it," she disagreed most strongly on this topic and said I needed to gentle him into hanging out one on one without feeling awkward about it. That he has to be helped move along the line to feel more comfortable. He needs everything to be slow and gentle, and also she pointed out that it sounds like he grew up sheltered and protected--only child out in the country. Also, that I read too much into/overthink/make a BFD out of things, I shouldn't be trying to DTR, I should "tease and tantalize" (oy), and "make him think that life is boring and kind of ick without you in it." Heee, well, yes. I said all of the slow is frustrating because my previous relationships started up pretty quickly, and she said "well, those didn't work out, did they?" And finally: "if he is the guy you think he is, trust your fucking gut." If you know inside he's the guy, go forward. Oh, and she's moving next week, so no session then either.

So, fine, it's like 2 p.m.ish by the time I finish up all the things and I decide to go back to my original tentative plan of "I'll ask him oh, today, I guess." So I drove over there and on the way over, asked God for a sign about asking him out. I did not get one (though I did see cars with hearts in the license plate before asking God, and on the way home). While I spotted his car outside, only his mom was out on the floor and I was all, I guess I'll have to ask about him when I'm done shopping if he's in the back.

So I picked out the yarn for his project and then was just killing time looking at books and then he came out and spotted me, gave me a hug, etc. He's fine healthwise, was having a bit of a teasing razzwar with his mom about which one of them was going to put out thread on the bottom of the thread racks (i.e. if she can get up again from that, she was all "I can get a chair!" it was cute). He did like my calling yarn "Lego for clothes," though, cracked up at that one, very cutely.

In other news, they are going to rebuild the burned down house and had the foundation poured, at least. I asked "weren't y'all supposed to have flooding over there from the bomb cyclone" and she said no, they didn't end up having that and they have a pond over there to pick up rainwater anyway, and she showed me a video of a creek on the property. (I do kinda wonder on how good of an idea it is to rebuild in a fire zone, though? Not that I'm gonna say that and soooo not my business, I would just feel bad for them if it happens all over again.) I talked to his mom about projects, as she is making a temperature blanket and I've made temperature scarves. We both like it warm :P

Anyway, here's the awkward situation, do I ask him out in front of his mother when I kind of planned on not doing that? Like I don't think she'd have a problem with it (she seems very cool) but he might? Oh well...so I said "would you like to go see Titanic with me?" and first off he says yes, he'd like to see it since he was almost in it, then we start discussing when to go. I had looked on their website and saw that they were having some kind of Bay Area fabric crawl in this weekend and I was correct in guessing he wouldn't want to do it this weekend, but he said he'd be up for the second or fourth weekends when he's off work.

AND THEN he wants to invite Robert, Janene and Cameron. Ahem. So I'm all "hm, well, I sent Robert a thing about Global Winter Wonderland and he said they were busy on weekends until January, and Cameron doesn't get back to me, but if you want to try them, go right ahead." He said he'd ask the first two while they game tonight. ALLRIGHTY THEN. Well, I tried, to say the least. It...sorta succeeded?

Told my therapist this and she was all, "Because of his comfort level" and maybe I should specify "just us" or that I could even say I don't really want to have to ask him out on a date to get some hanging out time, or that I was trying to ask him out undercover and it didn't work, and finally, "Your therapist gave you shitty advice today."

So....yeah, that's how that went. I did hang out there for about an hour, then went to go get myself another free Krispy Kreme (and to be fair, I actually bought a foofy drink and another donut while I was in there...the other donut was way Too Much, though, filled with goop and blech) in celebration, I suppose.

So he's probably Not Ready to be alone with me if he's all "let's invite everyone else!," right? Or that freaks him out or whatever?

Frigging dudes. Why bother. Why can't I go for ladies instead.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com