Chaos Attraction

Palm Love

2002-11-11, 7:14 p.m.

Well, S&D did not show up after all. On Friday night, Demma was vomiting, and Dave decided "to hell with it, I'm taking the train, who knows if they'll ever go." On Saturday, they were supposed to show up but never did. Found out Sunday afternoon that the car broke down again on the way over and they were at her dad's again and now Scott was the sick one, and as of Monday they are both sick, and according to Dave Demma is now coughing worse than me. Oy to that.

We had a good weekend without them anyway ;) Shopped, went to the movies and saw 8 Mile- yeah, I bet you're surprised Ms. Pink Pages here went to that, but it was good. (I have an odd soft spot for Eminem's snappier rhymes at times. And big annoyance at others *shrug*), fiddled with the computer a bit.


NaNoWriMo Update #5:

I wrote some of the novel again on the Palm over the weekend, setting up the keyboard on the bed and writing while waiting for lunch one day.

NaNoWriMo Progress Meter

This LOOKS like it's a lot of words, and it is. I finally broke 10,000! But it isn't a lot when I'm supposed to be over 18,000 if I was on schedule. I've been getting more and more behind in the last few days, it seems. And you'll notice that I'm writing this entry INSTEAD of the novel right now (I have been writing my entries during lunch at work) because I am too brain dead to churn out much. I finally have the free time and quiet to write, and I'm too shagged out to create, just to recap. Gah.


Dave's birthday had an inauspicious start. First off, I'd given him some lotion that made his legs go insane. Second, I started having yet another coughing fit around midnight. Third, he got an incredibly tense painful neckache at 2 a.m. I could hear him in the bathroom unhappily singing "Happy fucking birthday, goddamn me..."

This crap finally all cleared up around oh, 8 a.m.

It improved from there, though. I ended up buying him... a Palm. I've never made such a big purchase for someone else before, but we were eyeing them again and I saw that that i705, the one that's wireless Internet capable that he'd wanted, was now half price. Instantly affordable. Hell, it was so cheap I thought about buying it for myself, and I don't even need my Palm to be Internet-capable! Dave, however, could definitely use a way to at least check his e-mail when he's employed again and can sign up for service. So after a lot of debate, I decided to get it for him. This'll be about the last time I can afford such a thing, but I really wanted to get it for him, and he was so incredibly delighted by the gift. I've never seen anyone so happy about a present. Jumping up and down excited and hugging me all over the place. He said it was his best birthday in years and that normally he got presents along the lines of "a $5 gift certificate to a store I can't get to." I don't even think his parents got him anything this year (not that I know of, anyway). Since then we had oodles of fun downloading games and beaming each other stuff. We are such geeks. I'm so happy I got it for him, even though financially it's kind of ugh. Oh well, I don't have to buy anyone anything else until December comes around, and I may go cheap on presents since I've got thishere CD burner at home now.

As for the holiday situation... on Friday night he was making comments indicating that things were up in the air. He sounded like he was assuming I'd be going off by myself. Then later on that night said "I haven't forgotten about that, by the way." "I know." We didn't really discuss it much until the end of the weekend, and he didn't bug me about it when I was calling Mom to check in. On the way back to the train station, he finally said that while he really wanted me to come for Christmas and to tell my mom I was going with him whether she liked it or not, he wasn't going to push this because he didn't want us to fight over it or me to feel like I was in the middle and had to choose between them. (Which, let's face it, is the case anyway...) I was grateful to him for saying that, but somehow I don't think this whole issue is over yet anyway. He is a stubborn fellow when he really wants something. I rather suspect this will be coming up again at some point.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com