Chaos Attraction

Fa La Fuckin La

2002-12-18, 7:04 p.m.

(title courtesy of chicagowench, who sure seems to er, be in the holiday spirit. Which would set me up for a nice alcohol joke here except she's pregnant. Dammit.)

"It pisses me off that apparently, according to your friendly neighborhood mall, a diamond necklace or a power tool now equals love and respect."- Invincible Girl

It sure seems like a lot of people- journallers and people I know- are just really not happy this holiday season. Depressed, broke, layoff season (is there ANY business any more that is not having layoffs? Seriously? Does anyone know of any? I think my mom's work may be the only one, but they have like 9 people working there so they just cut your work hours instead), family giving them shit, weather sucks, shopping for pissy people, etc., etc... There's not a whole lot of people who are genuinely excited and happy about the holidays any more. A few, but not a lot the way there used to be.

Hill was saying the other day how Christmas just isn't any fun if you aren't a kid or don't have any kids. You go through the motions, but nobody's excited or happy when they're an adult. Maybe she's right, I don't know. I don't think that kids are necessarily required in order to have a good Christmas, but they don't feel sullied and beaten down by the whole thing the way that you do as an adult. Then again, it's not like they have to beat their brains in finding presents for people, and trying to decide who's spending the holiday with who, and juggling multiple people, and having to cook for ten... Well, gee, no wonder adults don't have that much fun at Christmas!

I have been feeling calmer about things ever since I let Mom win already (since she always does and fighting her only means she gets a bloodier win), but I have definitely lost my joy for the holiday season this year. I just don't care. I'm enjoying holiday stuff at work (presents! free food! days off!) and Jackie's gifts, but that's about it. I want it to be over so I don't have to deal with everyone.

The dress is done! After doing a bit on the wrap, I am finished!

I will probably be going to Dave's Saturday morning for a few days. He was apparently convincing himself that I was going to skip the party and come see him Friday night, even though I specifically said multiple times that I wasn't doing that. I'd rather he come here (more rain predicted for the weekend, just in time for me to walk home from the party in the rain and carry around wet luggage), but his brother, brother's baby momma (hey, that's what they call her, for lack of a better term since they weren't ever in a relationship beyond the one time) and child will be there. Oy. He also wants to do Christmas on Sunday, which I am not feeling all that great about. I'm already Christmas-cranky up the wazoo, plus I feel bad that he is supposedly giving me something and I know he can't afford it. I told him not to, but he insists. Between that and the DeBeers ads, he is in that kind of mood. Sigh.

It so feels like everything is on hold until he gets a job again. This is so frustrating.

(Here's a nasty squick factor: Mentioned the weekend plans to Mom and she got all convinced that the baby momma was lying and saying it wasn't his brother's. "Did she get tested? Was she lying?" Nice, Mom.)

Last night I was on the phone with him with the earbud in (kind of akin to speakerphone) while sewing the dress and talking to Hill about bouquets and how to avoid catching them. We both avoid doing it, but at the last wedding she was at, she was the only single girl there and got stuck. (Could be worse, I guess, you could be forcibly handed the bouquet, a la "I think it's an order.") Dave heard all this and said "The next wedding you're at, you'd BETTER try to catch the bouquet." I said back to this, "Well, the only one I'm likely to be at in the next few years is S&D's, and hell, they'd probably force it upon me." He said "Oh, I dunno, they are doing it in 2004." Huh? Turns out that he somehow thinks we'll be doing it before them, sometime in 2003. I highly doubt that, especially if eloping is verboten (really, my entire family would never forgive me and throw it in my face for the rest of my life), and we have to pay for it all ourselves. I highly doubt we'll be able to or my parents will have calmed down before 2004 at the least.

In other news, my antibiotics came in the mail last night, along with a doctor's note saying she thinks I could have bronchitis. Figures. While I haven't felt nearly as sick or tired as I did with the pneumonia, the coughing has gotten worse. I am fending off coughing fits (albeit not that bad of ones) nearly every night and about every other morning at work now. Ugh. I'm hoping these'll finally frigging clear up the problem already.

I was reading the Mayfly Project today, and it is interesting. (Yes, you can find mine in there, too, someplace.) Man, a lot of people had a LOT go on in their lives this year.

Wouldn't it be a surprise if I was married within 2003, though?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com