Chaos Attraction

Waiting Games

2002-05-17, 8:06 p.m.

I found two more jobs to apply for. One of which was a job I really wanted to apply for (the "Ping!" one here) but didn't that has been reopened. I wonder if that's a sign? It's paying less than it was before though, which sucks. I also found another job that would have some website work, which is cool. I'll need to hold on to those if this one doesn't work out. They're not due till the end of the month anyway. I'm actually feeling a bit more excited about those than the upcoming one, especially if they didn't have anyone to do the first one the first time! I thought at the time "if I'm really meant to have this job, it'll open up again," so...I also had a lovely conversation with a coworker (another design alum) about job stuff that cheered me up, so I'm feeling very calm on the will-find-a-job front.

If I don't get this one and the other two I've applied for call me, I'm wondering what to do. Specifically about the part-timer, since I'd have to answer about that before I'd find out about full-time work. Bail out?

Dave's been having more fun at work again. Boss was being a jerk again- threatened to fire him if he didn't wait around for hours for some chick he sold something to to show up and pick up her purchases. He really wants out of town, away from family, away from certain friends, and he's considering trying to get another job (or transfer) just to get away from the boss. Can't blame him for that. Though given the whole benefits thing, he really should wait it out nine more months and then transfer. On the other hand, I don't know how long he'll be able to stand the guy. The boss pisses me off every few days, and I don't even know him or see him every day of my life. The funny thing is that the boss was overheard by someone higher than him, and the higher-up said he was on Dave's side. So the boss apologized to him! I'm shocked.

Oh, and he said yes on going to Cyclebration. Unfortunately it's occurred to me by now that a few newspaper folks will be around at (at least, whoever's been tapped to cover it since I'm not around for the grunt work any more). Yikes. Hard to duck them either, since it's in a few block radius. Oy. Can't say I'm looking forward to going to that much.

I was a good girl and printed out my resume/references, and revamped my list of practice interview questions. So essentially I have no more major work for this interview other than to practice up a bit before Dave arrives at around midnight (gah). I somehow don't suspect I will, though. Oh well, there's always Sunday night. Tonight I am so impatient waiting for him to get here. I woke up at 5 a.m. wanting him to get here, and trying to work today, ugh. Good thing the boss wasn't in, because we were all feeling scatty and chatty and ready for work to end. I went out and bought some raspberry lotion and used my Borders gift certificate, so I feel nicely distracted for the moment.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com